Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Rochelle

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Flagg Township Public LibraryFlagg Township Public Library · Photo: Andy McMurray · CC BY 2.5
Safety in Rochelle · Not graded

Crime reported in Rochelle, IL

Rochelle’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
22
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
65
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
15 mi
Oregon (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.8)Violent crime (2.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Rochelle2.3
Rest of IL2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Rochelle6.8
Rest of IL17.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Rochelle’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearRochelleRest of IllinoisRochelleRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
2023not reported19.5not reported3.4
202411.919.82.23.2
20256.817.12.32.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

87 crimes reported in 2025

22 violent and 65 property, as reported to the FBI by Rochelle’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft60
Burglary2
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault18
Robbery1
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson0
22
violent crimes
65
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
OregonA−15 mi0.86.7
DeKalbC−16 mi3.624.0
ByronA+17 mi0.51.5
CortlandA−19 mi0.96.2
KingstonA20 mi0.32.8
SycamoreB+21 mi0.99.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Rochelle. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Rochelle.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Rochelle’s roads in 2019–2023

Rochelle had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 1 was a cyclist.

That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (6.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Rochelle’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Rochelle’s own rate (4.2) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
4.2
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000: 6.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Rochelle and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Hillcrest———
Flagg Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Hillcrest and Flagg Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Rochelle. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Rochelle’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (9,520 in 2025); our figure for Rochelle is 9,498 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Rochelle

Is Rochelle, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Rochelle. Rochelle’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Oregon (A−, 15 mi), DeKalb (C−, 16 mi), Byron (A+, 17 mi).

Who polices Rochelle?

Rochelle’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Rochelle”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Rochelle.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Rochelle feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.