Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Mount Vernon

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Mount Vernon, IllinoisPhoto: Paul Sableman · CC BY 2.0
Safety in Mount Vernon · Not graded

Crime reported in Mount Vernon, IL

Mount Vernon’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
81
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
283
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Ina (A+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 20 property crimes reported

And about 6 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (20.1)Violent crime (5.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Mount Vernon5.8
Rest of IL2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Mount Vernon20.1
Rest of IL17.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Mount Vernon’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMount VernonRest of IllinoisMount VernonRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
2023not reported19.5not reported3.4
202410.919.92.53.2
202520.117.15.82.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

364 crimes reported in 2025

81 violent and 283 property, as reported to the FBI by Mount Vernon’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft248
Burglary24
Vehicle theft11
Aggravated assault48
Robbery0
Rape33
Homicide0
Arson0
81
violent crimes
283
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
InaA+11 mi0.03.2
CentraliaD18 mi7.026.0
SalemC22 mi3.815.7
McLeansboroA26 mi1.21.7
PinckneyvilleA27 mi0.52.4
Du QuoinB+28 mi1.85.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Mount Vernon. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Mount Vernon.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Mount Vernon’s roads in 2019–2023

Mount Vernon had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (2 of 4) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (6.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Mount Vernon’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Mount Vernon’s own rate (5.7) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
5.7
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000: 6.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Mount Vernon and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Mount Vernon Township: not gradedDodds Township: not gradedMount Vernon TownshipDodds TownshipMount Vernon
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Dodds Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Dodds Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Mount Vernon. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Mount Vernon’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (14,062 in 2025); our figure for Mount Vernon is 14,187 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Mount Vernon

Is Mount Vernon, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Mount Vernon. Mount Vernon’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Ina (A+, 11 mi), Centralia (D, 18 mi), Salem (C, 22 mi).

Who polices Mount Vernon?

Mount Vernon’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Mount Vernon”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Mount Vernon.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Mount Vernon feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.