Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Macomb

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lamoine HotelLamoine Hotel · Photo: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Macomb · Not graded

Crime reported in Macomb, IL

Macomb’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
65
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
25 mi
Rushville (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.4)Violent crime (0.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Macomb0.7
Rest of IL3.2
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Macomb4.4
Rest of IL19.9
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Macomb’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMacombRest of IllinoisMacombRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
20238.119.61.13.4
20244.419.90.73.2
2025not reported17.1not reported2.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

76 crimes reported in 2024

11 violent and 65 property, as reported to the FBI by Macomb’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Robbery0
Homicide0
11
violent crimes
65
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2024 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
RushvilleB25 mi1.59.0
MonmouthC+31 mi2.412.0
HavanaD35 mi8.712.5
FarmingtonA−39 mi0.45.8
ManitoA48 mi0.24.3
AledoB+50 mi0.88.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Macomb. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Macomb.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Macomb’s roads in 2019–2023

Macomb had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is fewer than is typical for Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (6.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Macomb’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Macomb’s own rate (1.3) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
1.3
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 5,000–25,000: 6.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Macomb and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Macomb City Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Macomb City Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Macomb. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Macomb’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (14,805 in 2024); our figure for Macomb is 14,530 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Macomb

Is Macomb, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Macomb. Macomb’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Rushville (B, 25 mi), Monmouth (C+, 31 mi), Havana (D, 35 mi).

Who polices Macomb?

Macomb’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Macomb Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Macomb.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Macomb feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.