Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Knoxville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Knox County Pork Producers Building, Knox County FairgroundsPhoto: Robert Haugland · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Knoxville · Not graded

No grade for Knoxville, but its recorded crime is here

Widen the search to 25 miles and 2 graded towns turn up. The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Monmouth, 19 miles away, graded C+. Knoxville’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
19 mi
Monmouth (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

Property crime (3.9)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Knoxville1.1
Rest of IL2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Knoxville3.9
Rest of IL17.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Knoxville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearKnoxvilleRest of IllinoisKnoxvilleRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
2023not reported19.5not reported3.4
20245.719.80.73.2
20253.917.11.12.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

14 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft8
Burglary2
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson1
3
violent crimes
11
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

3 violent and 11 property, as reported to the FBI by Knoxville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MonmouthC+19 mi2.412.0
FarmingtonA−21 mi0.45.8
ToulonA+26 mi0.00.3
CambridgeA+27 mi0.02.5
OrionA+31 mi0.02.1
AledoB+31 mi0.88.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Knoxville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Knoxville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Knoxville’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Knoxville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Knoxville’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Knoxville and its neighbors

Knox Township: not gradedGalesburg: not gradedGalesburg City Township: not gradedKnox TownshipGalesburgGalesburg City TownshipKnoxville
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Galesburg City Township———
Galesburg———
Knox Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Galesburg City Township and Knox Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025. Galesburg reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Knoxville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Knoxville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,827 in 2025); our figure for Knoxville is 2,810 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Knoxville

Is Knoxville, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Knoxville. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Monmouth (C+, 19 mi), Farmington (A−, 21 mi), Toulon (A+, 26 mi).

Who polices Knoxville?

Knoxville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Knoxville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Knoxville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Knoxville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.