Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Chrisman

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Chrisman · Not graded

Crime reported in Chrisman, IL

Chrisman’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
13 mi
Paris (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.7)Violent crime (2.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Chrisman2.4
Rest of IL2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Chrisman4.7
Rest of IL17.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Chrisman’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearChrismanRest of IllinoisChrismanRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
2023not reported19.5not reported3.4
2024not reported19.8not reported3.2
20254.717.12.42.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

9 crimes reported in 2025

3 violent and 6 property, as reported to the FBI by Chrisman’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft5
Burglary1
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
6
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ParisC−13 mi5.214.4
WestvilleC+17 mi2.914.1
CatlinA+18 mi0.31.9
TiltonD20 mi2.832.6
OakwoodC22 mi4.214.4
DanvilleD−24 mi16.049.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Chrisman. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Chrisman.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Chrisman’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Chrisman’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Chrisman’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Chrisman and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Chrisman
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Chrisman. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Chrisman’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,266 in 2025); our figure for Chrisman is 1,263 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Chrisman

Is Chrisman, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Chrisman. Chrisman’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Paris (C−, 13 mi), Westville (C+, 17 mi), Catlin (A+, 18 mi).

Who polices Chrisman?

Chrisman’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Chrisman”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Chrisman.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Chrisman feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.