Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bloomington

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Bloomington, IL city hall 1 (cropped)Photo: Daniel Schwen · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Bloomington · Not graded

Crime reported in Bloomington, IL

Bloomington’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
250
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
1,017
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Normal (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (12.8)Violent crime (3.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Bloomington3.1
Rest of IL2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Bloomington12.8
Rest of IL17.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Bloomington’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBloomingtonRest of IllinoisBloomingtonRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
2023not reported19.5not reported3.4
2024not reported19.8not reported3.2
202512.817.13.12.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1,267 crimes reported in 2025

250 violent and 1,017 property, as reported to the FBI by Bloomington’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft849
Burglary101
Vehicle theft67
Aggravated assault147
Robbery14
Rape85
Homicide4
Arson9
250
violent crimes
1,017
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
NormalC3 mi3.016.0
HudsonA+9 mi0.40.6
HeyworthA−11 mi0.56.1
Le RoyA14 mi0.92.7
LexingtonA+15 mi0.01.0
MinierC+18 mi2.411.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Bloomington. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Bloomington.

On the roads

20 people died in crashes on Bloomington’s roads in 2019–2023

Bloomington had 20 fatal crashes in five years, in which 20 people died; 6 were pedestrians and 1 was a cyclist. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 5.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for Illinois towns of 25,000–100,000 people (5.1, 150 towns).

20
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
6
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
5.1
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 25,000–100,000: 5.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Bloomington and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Bloomington City Township———
Bloomington Township———
Old Town Township———
NormalC3.016.0
Dale Township———
Dry Grove Township———
Towanda Township———
Twin Grove———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Bloomington City Township, Bloomington Township, Old Town Township, Dale Township, Dry Grove Township and Towanda Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025. Twin Grove is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Bloomington. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Bloomington’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (79,368 in 2025); our figure for Bloomington is 78,804 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Bloomington

Is Bloomington, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Bloomington. Bloomington’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Normal (C, 3 mi), Hudson (A+, 9 mi), Heyworth (A−, 11 mi).

Who polices Bloomington?

Bloomington’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Bloomington”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Bloomington.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Bloomington feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.