Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Osburn

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Osburn · Not graded

Crime reported in Osburn, ID

Osburn’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Kellogg (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.5)Violent crime (2.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Osburn2.4
Rest of ID2.6
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Osburn6.5
Rest of ID9.3
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Osburn’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Idaho. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearOsburnRest of IdahoOsburnRest of Idaho
20223.011.61.22.8
20231.210.00.62.6
20246.59.32.42.6
2025not reported7.5not reported2.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

15 crimes reported in 2024

4 violent and 11 property, as reported to the FBI by Osburn’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft8
Burglary1
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
11
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Idaho towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
KelloggB−6 mi3.55.2
St. MariesB30 mi2.17.2
Coeur d'AleneB−39 mi2.68.9
RathdrumB+46 mi0.98.1
Post FallsB46 mi1.57.6
SandpointB60 mi0.711.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Osburn. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Osburn.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Osburn’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Idaho towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Osburn’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Osburn’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Idaho towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Osburn and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Osburn
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Osburn. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Osburn’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,688 in 2024); our figure for Osburn is 1,673 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Osburn

Is Osburn, ID safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Osburn. Osburn’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Idaho towns with a grade are Kellogg (B−, 6 mi), St. Maries (B, 30 mi), Coeur d'Alene (B−, 39 mi).

Who polices Osburn?

Osburn’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Osburn”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Osburn.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Osburn feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.