Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Union

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Union Public Library

Union’s library logs 5.8 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Union Public Library serves Union’s 942 residents. Last year it lent 3,931 print books and media and logged 5,418 visits.

406 Commercial St., Union 50258 · about 36 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
3,931
4.2 per resident
Visits a year
5,418
5.8 per resident · Above typical (3.5)
Programs & events
45
about 1 a week · 717 attended
Cardholders
100%
1,958 cards
Open
36 hrs
a week
In brief

Union’s library, in brief

More library cards than residents

1,958 cards for 942 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓

A small-town library

Union Public Library serves 942 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 36 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Union’s civic life grade

Union isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Union’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 5.8 visits · typical 3.5Higher than 73%
Borrowing per resident 4.2 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 54%
Kids’ borrowing 1 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 60%
Program attendance 0.8 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 53%
Programs offered 47.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 58%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 54%Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Union Public Library serves 942 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 2 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

5,418
visits
5.8 per resident
3,931
loans, print + digital
4.2 per resident
45
programs & events
717 attended
1,958
library cards
100% of people served
Every open hour2items borrowed
Every week14people at a program
Every day5Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers14K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

3,931 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

3,931loans
Books & media (adults) 76%Kids’ books & media 24%
How hard the shelves work
0.3×

Each of the 14K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

45 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Union →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–512
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults23
All ages10
Little ones
0.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

941
kids’ books & media borrowed
717
people at programs
45
programs
The building

Find it

Union Public Library, 406 Commercial St., Union.

36
hours open a week
3,000
square feet
14K
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Union? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Union cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,958 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Union

Does Union have a public library?

Yes. Union Public Library, 406 Commercial St., serves Union’s 942 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 36 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Union Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Union’s library?

It logged 5.8 visits and lent 4.2 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Union’s civic life grade?

Union isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Union.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.