Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Runnells

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Runnells, IowaPhoto: Quintin Soloviev · CC BY 4.0
Runnells Community Library

Runnells’ library lends 6 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Runnells Community Library serves 661 people in and around Runnells. Last year it lent 3,997 print books and media and logged 2,051 visits.

6575 SE 116th St., Runnells 50237 · about 20 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
3,997
6 per resident
Visits a year
2,051
3.1 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
39
about 1 a week · 1,685 attended
Cardholders
100%
1,064 cards
Open
20 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Runnells’s library

More library cards than residents

1,064 cards for 661 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓

A small-town library

Runnells Community Library serves 661 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Open only about 20 hours a week

Runnells Community Library keeps short hours: about 20 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

Runnells Community Library serves more than Runnells

The library’s service area covers 661 people in and around Runnells, so its per-resident numbers are measured against that wider population. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Runnells’ civic life grade

Runnells isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Runnells’ overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

39 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Runnells →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–1128
Teens0
Adults0
All ages11
551
kids’ books & media borrowed
1,685
people at programs
39
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3.1 visits · typical 3.5Lower than 56%
Borrowing per resident 6 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 69%
Kids’ borrowing 0.8 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 65%
Program attendance 2.5 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 89%
Programs offered 59 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 50%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 54%Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Runnells Community Library serves 661 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 4 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

2,051
visits
3.1 per resident
3,997
loans, print + digital
6 per resident
39
programs & events
1,685 attended
1,064
library cards
100% of people served
Every open hour4items borrowed
Every week32people at a program
Every week39visits
2 public computers6,018 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

3,997 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

3,997loans
Books & media (adults) 86%Kids’ books & media 14%
How hard the shelves work
0.7×

Each of the 6,018 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.7 time last year, on average.

The building

Find it

Runnells Community Library, 6575 SE 116th St., Runnells.

20
hours open a week
2,755
square feet
6,018
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Runnells? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Runnells cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,064 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Runnells

Does Runnells have a public library?

Yes. Runnells Community Library, 6575 SE 116th St., serves 661 people in and around Runnells (the survey’s count) and is open about 20 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Runnells Community Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Runnells’ library?

It logged 3.1 visits and lent 6.0 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Runnells’ civic life grade?

Runnells isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Runnells.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.