Photo: Brandonrush · Public domainRenwick’s library lends 15 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size
Renwick Public Library serves Renwick’s 264 residents. Last year it lent 3,986 print books and media and logged 2,756 visits.
What Renwick’s library is like
Renwick uses its library more than almost any town its size
Renwick Public Library logs 10 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries serving under 2,500 people, and lends 15 print items per resident against a typical 3.9. On both counts it beats 90% of similar-size libraries across the U.S. How it compares ↓
Four times the programs of a typical library its size
Renwick Public Library ran 66 programs last year, about 1 a week. That’s 250 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60. People show up: 1,837 attended. Kids & programs ↓
A small-town library
Renwick Public Library serves 264 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
Open only about 20 hours a week
Renwick Public Library keeps short hours: about 20 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere
Children’s books and media are 41% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 92% of similar-size libraries. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Renwick’s civic life grade
Renwick isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
66 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Renwick Public Library serves 264 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
Every hour the doors are open, about 4 items go out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
3,986 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 6,716 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.6 time last year, on average.
Find it
Renwick Public Library, 204 Stoddard St., Renwick.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Renwick cardholder borrows.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 102 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Visits are a typical-week estimate. Renwick Public Library counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Renwick
Does Renwick have a public library?
Yes. Renwick Public Library, 204 Stoddard St., serves Renwick’s 264 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 20 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Renwick Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Renwick’s library?
It logged 10.4 visits and lent 15.1 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Renwick’s civic life grade?
Renwick isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Renwick.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.