Photo: PopePompus · CC BY-SA 4.0Letts’ library lends 0.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size
Letts Public Library serves Letts’s 1,912 residents. Last year it lent 1,654 print books and media and logged 3,380 visits.
What Letts’s library is like
Below typical on every measure
Against libraries serving under 2,500 people, Letts Public Library sits below the middle on all six per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on three. How it compares ↓
A small-town library
Letts Public Library serves 1,912 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 26 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
Programs lean toward adults
51% of the 100 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 32 were for children. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Letts’ civic life grade
Letts isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Below most similar-size libraries on all 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Letts Public Library serves 1,912 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
Every hour the doors are open, about 1 item goes out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
1,654 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 12K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.1 time last year, on average.
100 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Letts last year.
Find it
Letts Public Library, 125 E Iowa St., Letts.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Letts cardholder borrows.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 980 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Letts
Does Letts have a public library?
Yes. Letts Public Library, 125 E Iowa St., serves Letts’ 1,912 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 26 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Letts Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Letts’ library?
It logged 1.8 visits and lent 0.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Letts’ civic life grade?
Letts isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Letts.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.