Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dexter

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
DDexter Community HousePhoto: Jim Roberts · CC BY-SA 4.0
Dexter Public Library

Dexter’s library lends 7.5 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Dexter Public Library serves Dexter’s 1,538 residents. Last year it lent 12K print books and media and logged 1,530 visits.

724 Marshall, Dexter 50070 · about 20 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
12K
7.5 per resident
Visits a year
1,530
1 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Cardholders
43%
654 cards
Open
20 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Dexter’s library

People borrow more than they stay

Borrowing per resident is higher than at 78% of similar-size libraries, but visits are lower than at 92%. People come in, pick up their books and go. How it compares ↓

A small-town library

Dexter Public Library serves 1,538 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Open only about 20 hours a week

Dexter Public Library keeps short hours: about 20 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Dexter’s civic life grade

Dexter isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Dexter’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 4 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1 visits · typical 3.5Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 7.5 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 78%
Kids’ borrowing 1.6 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 55%
Cardholders 43% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 63%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Dexter Public Library serves 1,538 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 14 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

1,530
visits
1 per resident
12K
loans, print + digital
7.5 per resident
654
library cards
43% of people served
Every open hour14items borrowed
Every week29visits
1 staff (full-time equivalent)6 public computers12K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

12K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

12Kloans
Books & media (adults) 79%Kids’ books & media 21%
How hard the shelves work
1×

Each of the 12K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Dexter →
Kids’ books
15

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Dexter last year.

The building

Find it

Dexter Public Library, 724 Marshall, Dexter.

20
hours open a week
1,320
square feet
12K
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Dexter? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Dexter cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 654 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Dexter

Does Dexter have a public library?

Yes. Dexter Public Library, 724 Marshall, serves Dexter’s 1,538 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 20 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Dexter Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Dexter’s library?

It logged 1.0 visits and lent 7.5 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Dexter’s civic life grade?

Dexter isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Dexter.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.