Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dayton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dayton Public Library

Dayton’s library runs 192 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Dayton Public Library serves Dayton’s 1,091 residents. Last year it lent 5,389 print books and media and logged 4,325 visits.

22 First St. NW, Dayton 50530 · about 24 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
5,389
4.9 per resident
Visits a year
4,325
4 per resident · Above typical (3.5)
Programs & events
209
about 4 a week · 2,510 attended
Cardholders
21%
225 cards
Open
24 hrs
a week
In brief

Dayton’s library, in brief

A small-town library

Dayton Public Library serves 1,091 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 24 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 21% of the people Dayton Public Library serves have a library card, against a typical 54% for its size. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Dayton’s civic life grade

Dayton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Dayton’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Dayton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–566
Ages 6–1154
Teens20
Adults35
All ages34
Little ones
1.3

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
16

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Dayton last year.

2,510
people at programs
209
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 4 visits · typical 3.5Higher than 56%
Borrowing per resident 4.9 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 61%
Kids’ borrowing 1.9 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 62%
Program attendance 2.3 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 88%
Programs offered 191.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 87%
Cardholders 21% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 88%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Dayton Public Library serves 1,091 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 4 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

4,325
visits
4 per resident
5,389
loans, print + digital
4.9 per resident
209
programs & events
2,510 attended
225
library cards
21% of people served
Every open hour4items borrowed
Every week48people at a program
Every day2Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)3 public computers14K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

5,389 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

5,389loans
Books & media (adults) 61%Kids’ books & media 39%
How hard the shelves work
0.4×

Each of the 14K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.4 time last year, on average.

The building

Find it

Dayton Public Library, 22 First St. NW, Dayton.

24
hours open a week
1,406
square feet
14K
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Dayton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Dayton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
1
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$468
a year at retail prices · $39 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 225 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Dayton

Does Dayton have a public library?

Yes. Dayton Public Library, 22 First St. NW, serves Dayton’s 1,091 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 24 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Dayton Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Dayton’s library?

It logged 4.0 visits and lent 4.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Dayton’s civic life grade?

Dayton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Dayton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.