Photo: Jo Naylor from Bolivar, Missouri, USA · CC BY 2.0Coin’s library logs 0.4 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size
Coin Public Library serves Coin’s 795 residents. Last year it logged 326 visits.
The short version on Coin’s library
Mostly paid for by gifts, not taxes
65% of the library’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 35%. What your card is worth ↓
Open only about 13 hours a week
Coin Public Library keeps short hours: about 13 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
A small-town library
Coin Public Library serves 795 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
Few residents carry a card
Only 4% of the people Coin Public Library serves have a library card, against a typical 54% for its size. How it compares ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Coin’s civic life grade
Coin isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Below most similar-size libraries on all 2 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Coin Public Library serves 795 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Coin Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Loans aren’t shown: this year’s report counted only 30 items borrowed against 326 visits, so we leave the count out.
Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Coin Public Library, 115 Main St., Coin.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Coin cardholder borrows.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 34 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Loans left out. This year’s loan count is far below the library’s visits and shelves, so we leave it out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Coin
Does Coin have a public library?
Yes. Coin Public Library, 115 Main St., serves Coin’s 795 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 13 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Coin Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Coin’s library?
It logged 0.4 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Coin’s civic life grade?
Coin isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Coin.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.