Kirkpatrick, Robert Round Barn · Photo: Kevin Schuchmann · CC BY-SA 3.0Coggon’s library logs 2.5 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size
Coggon Public Library serves Coggon’s 1,428 residents. Last year it lent 4,080 print books and media and logged 3,500 visits.
Coggon’s library, in brief
A small-town library
Coggon Public Library serves 1,428 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 31 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
Programs lean toward adults
67% of the 93 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 31 were for children. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Coggon’s civic life grade
Coggon isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 5 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Coggon Public Library serves 1,428 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
Every hour the doors are open, about 3 items go out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
4,080 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
The survey has no count of children’s loans for Coggon’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.
Each of the 11K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.4 time last year, on average.
93 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Coggon Public Library, 202 Main St., Coggon.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.21 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Coggon resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $40K.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $90K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $40K budget.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,428 people it serves ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Coggon
Does Coggon have a public library?
Yes. Coggon Public Library, 202 Main St., serves Coggon’s 1,428 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 31 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Coggon Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Coggon’s library?
It logged 2.5 visits and lent 2.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Coggon’s civic life grade?
Coggon isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Coggon.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.