Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Aurora

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Richardson-Jakway HouseRichardson-Jakway House · Photo: Kevin Schuchmann · CC BY-SA 3.0
Aurora Public Library

Aurora’s library logs 1.4 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Aurora Public Library serves Aurora’s 1,533 residents. Last year it lent 3,450 print books and media and logged 2,070 visits.

401 Woodruff St., Aurora 50607 · about 10 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
3,450
2.3 per resident
Visits a year
2,070
1.4 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
61
about 1 a week · 448 attended
Cardholders
20%
312 cards
Open
10 hrs
a week
In brief

What Aurora’s library is like

Open only about 10 hours a week

Aurora Public Library keeps short hours: about 10 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

Programs are almost all for children

90% of the 61 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 1 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Below typical on every measure

Against libraries serving under 2,500 people, Aurora Public Library sits below the middle on all five per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on four. How it compares ↓

A small-town library

Aurora Public Library serves 1,533 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 20% of the people Aurora Public Library serves have a library card, against a typical 54% for its size. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Aurora’s civic life grade

Aurora isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Aurora’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.4 visits · typical 3.5Lower than 87%
Borrowing per resident 2.3 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 72%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 73%
Programs offered 39.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 63%
Cardholders 20% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 88%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Aurora Public Library serves 1,533 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 7 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

2,070
visits
1.4 per resident
3,450
loans, print + digital
2.3 per resident
61
programs & events
448 attended
312
library cards
20% of people served
Every open hour7items borrowed
Every week9people at a program
Every week40visits
3 public computers4,005 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

3,450 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Aurora’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.9×

Each of the 4,005 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.9 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Aurora →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–552
Ages 6–113
Teens0
Adults0
All ages6
Little ones
1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

448
people at programs
61
programs
The building

Find it

Aurora Public Library, 401 Woodruff St., Aurora.

10
hours open a week
892
square feet
4,005
books & media
With a card

Ask at the desk about getting a card.

New in Aurora? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Aurora cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 312 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Aurora

Does Aurora have a public library?

Yes. Aurora Public Library, 401 Woodruff St., serves Aurora’s 1,533 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 10 hours a week, averaged over the year.

How busy is Aurora’s library?

It logged 1.4 visits and lent 2.3 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Aurora’s civic life grade?

Aurora isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Aurora.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.