Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ringgold

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Ringgold City Hall, Ringgold (Catoosa County, Georgia)Photo: KudzuVine · Public domain
Safety in Ringgold · Not graded

Crime reported in Ringgold, GA

Ringgold’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
83
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Chickamauga (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 24 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (24.1)Violent crime (2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Ringgold2.0
Rest of GA3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Ringgold24.1
Rest of GA21.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Ringgold’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearRinggoldRest of GeorgiaRinggoldRest of Georgia
2022not reported24.7not reported4.9
202330.125.41.24.4
202424.121.52.03.8
2025not reported18.0not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

90 crimes reported in 2024

7 violent and 83 property, as reported to the FBI by Ringgold’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft72
Burglary2
Vehicle theft9
Aggravated assault5
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
7
violent crimes
83
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ChickamaugaA−10 mi1.14.8
DaltonC13 mi2.318.7
Lookout MountainA+14 mi0.21.8
ChatsworthB+21 mi1.17.3
SummervilleC+33 mi2.014.3
AdairsvilleC+39 mi1.915.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Ringgold. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Ringgold.

On the roads

Nine people died in crashes on Ringgold’s roads in 2019–2023

Ringgold had 9 fatal crashes in five years, in which nine people died; 2 were pedestrians. 3 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is more than is typical for Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (10.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Ringgold’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Ringgold’s own rate (52.4) is context, not a ranking.

9
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
2
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
52.4
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000: 10.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Ringgold and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Ringgold
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Ringgold. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Ringgold’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,444 in 2024); our figure for Ringgold is 3,391 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Ringgold

Is Ringgold, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Ringgold. Ringgold’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Chickamauga (A−, 10 mi), Dalton (C, 13 mi), Lookout Mountain (A+, 14 mi).

Who polices Ringgold?

Ringgold’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Ringgold”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Ringgold.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Ringgold feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.