Fort Oglethorpe Historic District · Photo: Andrew Jameson · CC BY-SA 3.0Fort Oglethorpe has no Safety Grade
Of the graded towns, Chickamauga is the closest, at A−. Fort Oglethorpe’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 22 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Fort Oglethorpe’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Fort Oglethorpe | Rest of Georgia | Fort Oglethorpe | Rest of Georgia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 31.6 | 24.7 | 1.7 | 5.0 |
| 2023 | not reported | 25.4 | not reported | 4.4 |
| 2024 | 29.8 | 21.5 | 1.5 | 3.8 |
| 2025 | 22.3 | 18.0 | 2.2 | 3.5 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
262 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
24 violent and 238 property, as reported to the FBI by Fort Oglethorpe’s police.
The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chickamauga | A− | 4 mi | 1.1 | 4.8 |
| Lookout Mountain | A+ | 7 mi | 0.2 | 1.8 |
| Dalton | C | 19 mi | 2.3 | 18.7 |
| Chatsworth | B+ | 28 mi | 1.1 | 7.3 |
| Summerville | C+ | 32 mi | 2.0 | 14.3 |
| Adairsville | C+ | 43 mi | 1.9 | 15.0 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Fort Oglethorpe. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Fort Oglethorpe.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Eight people died in crashes on Fort Oglethorpe’s roads in 2019–2023
Fort Oglethorpe had 7 fatal crashes in five years, in which eight people died; 3 were pedestrians.
That is about what is typical for Georgia towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Fort Oglethorpe’s size would see about 6 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Fort Oglethorpe’s own rate (15.4) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Fort Oglethorpe and its neighbors
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Lakeview and Fairview are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Fort Oglethorpe. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Fort Oglethorpe’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (10,686 in 2025); our figure for Fort Oglethorpe is 10,868 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Fort Oglethorpe
Is Fort Oglethorpe, GA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Fort Oglethorpe. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Chickamauga (A−, 4 mi), Lookout Mountain (A+, 7 mi), Dalton (C, 19 mi).
Who polices Fort Oglethorpe?
Fort Oglethorpe’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Fort Oglethorpe”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Fort Oglethorpe.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.