Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dallas

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Paulding County CourthousePaulding County Courthouse · Photo: TheMillCreek · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Dallas · Not graded

Crime recorded in Dallas, and why it isn’t graded

Hiram has a Safety Grade of D−; no graded town is nearer. Dallas’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 16.

Violent crimes
23
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
72
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Hiram (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

Property crime (4.7)Violent crime (1.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dallas1.5
Rest of GA3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dallas4.7
Rest of GA18.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Dallas’ police reported

Show as a table
YearDallasRest of GeorgiaDallasRest of Georgia
20229.524.82.25.0
2023not reported25.4not reported4.4
20245.821.61.03.8
20254.718.11.53.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

95 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft63
Burglary6
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault20
Robbery3
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
23
violent crimes
72
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

23 violent and 72 property, as reported to the FBI by Dallas’ police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
HiramD−5 mi3.155.0
RockmartC−13 mi3.726.8
AcworthB+14 mi0.411.2
KennesawB−15 mi2.37.9
EmersonB+16 mi1.16.7
TempleB17 mi1.010.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Dallas. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Dallas.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

11 people died in crashes on Dallas’s roads in 2019–2023

Dallas had 10 fatal crashes in five years, in which 11 people died.

That is 15.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Georgia towns of 5,000–25,000 people (11.0, 121 towns).

11
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
15.0
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Dallas and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
HiramD−3.155.0

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Dallas. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Dallas’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (15,301 in 2025); our figure for Dallas is 15,402 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Dallas

Is Dallas, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Dallas. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Hiram (D−, 5 mi), Rockmart (C−, 13 mi), Acworth (B+, 14 mi).

Who polices Dallas?

Dallas’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Dallas”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Dallas feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Dallas.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.