Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Austell

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
City of Austell Georgia Threadmill ComplexPhoto: CalleyD01 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Austell · Not graded

Crime reported in Austell, GA

Austell’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
13
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
51
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
7 mi
Douglasville (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.1)Violent crime (1.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Austell1.6
Rest of GA3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Austell6.1
Rest of GA18.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Austell’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearAustellRest of GeorgiaAustellRest of Georgia
2022not reported24.7not reported4.9
2023not reported25.4not reported4.4
20248.521.52.53.8
20256.118.11.63.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

64 crimes reported in 2025

13 violent and 51 property, as reported to the FBI by Austell’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft40
Burglary6
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault10
Robbery0
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson0
13
violent crimes
51
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
DouglasvilleD7 mi5.043.1
HiramD−8 mi3.155.0
SmyrnaC+8 mi2.513.0
MariettaC11 mi3.218.5
South FultonD13 mi5.321.2
AtlantaD13 mi6.835.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Austell. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Austell.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Austell’s roads in 2019–2023

Austell had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died.

That is about what is typical for Georgia towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Austell’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Austell’s own rate (11.8) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
11.8
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Austell and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Mableton———
Lithia Springs———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Mableton has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025. Lithia Springs is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Austell. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Austell’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (8,348 in 2025); our figure for Austell is 8,339 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Austell

Is Austell, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Austell. Austell’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Douglasville (D, 7 mi), Hiram (D−, 8 mi), Smyrna (C+, 8 mi).

Who polices Austell?

Austell’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Austell”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Austell.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Austell feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.