Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Titusville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Titusville City Hall FLPhoto: Connor Williams · CC BY 2.0
Titusville Public Library · part of Brevard County Library System

Titusville’s library is a branch of Brevard County Library System, which lends more per resident than 71% of systems its size

Titusville’s library is the Titusville Public Library, a branch of Brevard County Library System, which serves 653,548 people and lent 3.3M items last year.

2121 South Hopkins Avenue, Titusville 32780 · about 58 hours a week
B−Civic lifeAhead of 51% of U.S. towns · #51 of 273 in Florida. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
3.3M
5.1 per resident
Visits a year
1.6M
2.4 per resident · Above typical (2.1)
Programs & events
9,522
about 183 a week · 178K attended
Cardholders
39%
257,967 cards
Open
58 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Titusville Public Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Titusville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Titusville is ahead of 51% of U.S. towns, #51 of 273 in Florida. Titusville is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Titusville’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Titusville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 51%
FewerMore
Florida towns we grade (273)Ahead of 82%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $50K–$83K (8,706)Ahead of 47%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

169 community nonprofits are registered in Titusville

3.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture110.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation240.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans250.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services290.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education220.45 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health170.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals170.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other240.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (70 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 11 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

8.2%

8.2% of Titusville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Titusville’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.4 visits · typical 2.1Higher than 61%
Borrowing per resident 5.1 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 71%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 64%
Programs offered 14.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 76%
Cardholders 39% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 52%
Spending $31 per resident · typical $36Lower than 56%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Brevard County Library System serves 653,548 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Brevard County Library System

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Brevard County Library System system. The library’s own count.

1.6M
visits
2.4 per resident
3.3M
loans, print + digital
5.1 per resident
9,522
programs & events
178K attended
258K
library cards
39% of people served
Every week3,415people at a program
Every day947Wi-Fi sessions
219 staff (full-time equivalent)485 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

3.3M print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Titusville’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

Kids & programs

About 69 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Titusville →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–52,055
Ages 6–111,539
Teens318
Adults2,604
All ages3,006
Little ones
39.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

178K
people at programs
9,522
programs
The building

Find it

Titusville Public Library, 2121 South Hopkins Avenue, Titusville.

58
hours open a week
31,010
square feet
With a card

Good at every Brevard County Library System branch.

New in Titusville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.87 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Titusville cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$31 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $21M.

Local taxes 92%State 1%Federal 0%Gifts & other 6%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $59M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $21M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 257,967 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
TitusvilleTitusville Public Library—58B−
MimsMims/Scottsmoor Public Library—39— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Titusville Public Library is one branch of Brevard County Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 653,548 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Titusville

Does Titusville have a public library?

Yes: Titusville Public Library, 2121 South Hopkins Avenue, is a branch of Brevard County Library System, which serves 653,548 people. The branch is open about 58 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Brevard County Library System fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Titusville’s library?

It logged 2.4 visits and lent 5.1 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Titusville’s civic life grade?

B− Titusville is ahead of 51% of U.S. towns on civic life, #51 of 273 in Florida. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Titusville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.