Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Sweetwater

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
2013-0811-DolphinMallPhoto: Bobak Ha'Eri · CC BY 3.0
Safety in Sweetwater · Not graded

Crime reported in Sweetwater, FL

Sweetwater’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
46
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
412
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Doral (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 19 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (18.8)Violent crime (2.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Sweetwater2.1
Rest of FL3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Sweetwater18.8
Rest of FL14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Sweetwater’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSweetwaterRest of FloridaSweetwaterRest of Florida
2022not reported22.1not reported4.4
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
202420.718.41.03.5
202518.814.32.13.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

458 crimes reported in 2025

46 violent and 412 property, as reported to the FBI by Sweetwater’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft388
Burglary20
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault36
Robbery9
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
46
violent crimes
412
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
DoralB3 mi1.012.3
Hialeah GardensB7 mi0.712.6
South MiamiC−8 mi4.820.9
HialeahC+8 mi1.816.1
Miami LakesB10 mi0.811.9
Coral GablesB−11 mi0.714.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Sweetwater. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Sweetwater.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Sweetwater’s roads in 2019–2023

Sweetwater had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 3 were pedestrians.

That is about what is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Sweetwater’s size would see about 11 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Sweetwater’s own rate (6.0) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
3
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
6.0
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Sweetwater and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Fountainebleau———
Tamiami———
DoralB1.012.3
Westchester———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Fountainebleau, Tamiami and Westchester are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Sweetwater. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Sweetwater’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (21,875 in 2025); our figure for Sweetwater is 20,828 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Sweetwater

Is Sweetwater, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Sweetwater. Sweetwater’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Doral (B, 3 mi), Hialeah Gardens (B, 7 mi), South Miami (C−, 8 mi).

Who polices Sweetwater?

Sweetwater’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Sweetwater”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Sweetwater.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Sweetwater feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.