Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Surfside

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Surfside-Florida-2014Photo: Alexf · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Surfside · Not graded

Crime reported in Surfside, FL

Surfside’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
139
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
1 mi
Bal Harbour (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 24 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (24.2)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Surfside0.5
Rest of FL3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Surfside24.2
Rest of FL14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Surfside’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSurfsideRest of FloridaSurfsideRest of Florida
202221.822.10.94.5
202327.419.21.13.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
202524.214.30.53.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

142 crimes reported in 2025

3 violent and 139 property, as reported to the FBI by Surfside’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft127
Burglary7
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault2
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
139
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Bal HarbourC−1 mi1.129.5
North Bay VillageB−3 mi2.110.3
Miami ShoresC−3 mi1.932.2
Sunny Isles BeachB4 mi1.210.8
North Miami BeachD4 mi5.726.6
AventuraC−6 mi1.336.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Surfside. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Surfside.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Surfside’s roads in 2019–2023

That is fewer than is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Surfside’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Surfside’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Surfside and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Bal HarbourC−1.129.5

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Surfside. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Surfside’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,736 in 2025); our figure for Surfside is 5,591 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Surfside

Is Surfside, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Surfside. Surfside’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Bal Harbour (C−, 1 mi), North Bay Village (B−, 3 mi), Miami Shores (C−, 3 mi).

Who polices Surfside?

Surfside’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Surfside”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Surfside.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Surfside feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.