Palmetto Armory · Photo: McGhiever · CC BY-SA 3.0Palmetto’s library is a branch of Manatee County Public Library System, which lends less per resident than 60% of systems its size
Palmetto’s library is the Palmetto Branch, a branch of Manatee County Public Library System, which serves 455,195 people and lent 1.2M items last year.
What stands out about Palmetto Branch
Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.
What’s behind Palmetto’s civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Palmetto is ahead of 22% of U.S. towns, #144 of 273 in Florida. Palmetto is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Palmetto’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.
Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($47K–$78K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
49 community nonprofits are registered in Palmetto
3.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (18 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 2 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.
5.2%
5.2% of Palmetto’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Palmetto’s residents live; 2022.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 5 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.
Manatee County Public Library System serves 455,195 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.
A year at Manatee County Public Library System
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Manatee County Public Library System system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
1.2M print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
The survey has no count of children’s loans for Palmetto’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.
About 24 kids’ programs a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Palmetto Branch, 923 Sixth Street West, Palmetto.















No late fees. Good at every Manatee County Public Library System branch.
New in Palmetto? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Palmetto cardholder borrows.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 126,030 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
- System-wide. Palmetto Branch is one branch of Manatee County Public Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 455,195 people it serves.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Palmetto
Does Palmetto have a public library?
Yes: Palmetto Branch, 923 Sixth Street West, is a branch of Manatee County Public Library System, which serves 455,195 people. The branch is open about 62 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Manatee County Public Library System fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Palmetto’s library?
It logged 1.8 visits and lent 2.7 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.
What is Palmetto’s civic life grade?
C− Palmetto is ahead of 22% of U.S. towns on civic life, #144 of 273 in Florida. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Palmetto.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.