Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Osprey

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Guptill House in Sarasota FloridaPhoto: Trish Hartmann · CC BY 2.0
Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point · part of Sarasota County Public Libraries

Osprey’s library is a branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, which lends more per resident than 59% of systems its size

Osprey’s library is the Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point, a branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, which serves 479,021 people and lent 1.8M items last year.

337 North Tamiami Trail, Osprey 34229 · about 31 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
1.8M
3.7 per resident
Visits a year
1.4M
2.9 per resident · Above typical (2.1)
Programs & events
4,625
about 89 a week · 95K attended
Cardholders
47%
224,371 cards
Open
31 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Osprey’s civic life grade

Osprey isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Osprey’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Osprey

Osprey is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

8.5%

8.5% of Osprey’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Osprey’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.9 visits · typical 2.1Higher than 74%
Borrowing per resident 3.7 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 59%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 55%
Programs offered 9.7 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 51%
Cardholders 47% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 62%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Sarasota County Public Libraries serves 479,021 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Sarasota County Public Libraries

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Sarasota County Public Libraries system. The library’s own count.

1.4M
visits
2.9 per resident
1.8M
loans, print + digital
3.7 per resident
4,625
programs & events
95K attended
224K
library cards
47% of people served
Every week1,819people at a program
Every day10,209Wi-Fi sessions
157 staff (full-time equivalent)255 public computers

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

1.8M print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Osprey’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

Kids & programs

About 35 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Osprey →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5908
Ages 6–11908
Teens974
Adults1,687
All ages148
Little ones
17.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

95K
people at programs
4,625
programs
The building

Find it

Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point, 337 North Tamiami Trail, Osprey.

31
hours open a week
800
square feet
With a card

No late fees. Good at every Sarasota County Public Libraries branch.

New in Osprey? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Osprey cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$240
a year at retail prices · $20 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 224,371 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
OspreyOsprey Library at Historic Spanish Point fine-free—31— unincorporated
LaurelNone of its own——— unincorporated
VamoNone of its own——— unincorporated
Palmer RanchNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point is one branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 479,021 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Osprey

Does Osprey have a public library?

Yes: Osprey Library at Historic Spanish Point, 337 North Tamiami Trail, is a branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, which serves 479,021 people. The branch is open about 31 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Sarasota County Public Libraries fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Osprey’s library?

It logged 2.9 visits and lent 3.7 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Osprey’s civic life grade?

Osprey isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Sarasota County Public Libraries, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Osprey.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.