Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Orange City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Louis P. Thursby HouseLouis P. Thursby House · Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Orange City · Not graded

What is recorded in Orange City, and why there is no grade

The closest graded town is Lake Helen, 5 miles away, at A−. Widen the search to 25 miles and 10 graded towns turn up. Orange City has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
39
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
391
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Lake Helen (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 26 property crimes reported

Property crime (26.3)Violent crime (2.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orange City2.6
Rest of FL4.5
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orange City26.3
Rest of FL22.1
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Orange City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearOrange CityRest of FloridaOrange CityRest of Florida
202226.322.12.64.5
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

430 crimes reported in 2022

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft340
Burglary23
Vehicle theft28
Aggravated assault31
Robbery4
Rape4
Homicide0
Arson2
39
violent crimes
391
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

39 violent and 391 property, as reported to the FBI by Orange City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Lake HelenA−5 mi1.63.3
SanfordD10 mi5.623.2
Lake MaryB12 mi1.28.8
LongwoodC+17 mi2.413.1
CasselberryC−19 mi2.622.1
OviedoB+20 mi1.15.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Orange City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Orange City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

14 people died in crashes on Orange City’s roads in 2019–2023

Orange City had 14 fatal crashes in five years, in which 14 people died; 6 were pedestrians. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is 19.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people (11.0, 308 towns).

14
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
6
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
19.5
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Orange City and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
DeBary———
Deltona———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. DeBary and Deltona have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Orange City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Orange City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (14,880 in 2022); our figure for Orange City is 15,309 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Orange City

Is Orange City, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Orange City. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Lake Helen (A−, 5 mi), Sanford (D, 10 mi), Lake Mary (B, 12 mi).

Who polices Orange City?

Orange City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Orange City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Orange City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Orange City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.