Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Milton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Louisville and Nashville DepotLouisville and Nashville Depot · Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Milton · Not graded

Crime reported in Milton, FL

Milton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
14
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
42
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
15 mi
Pensacola (B+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.7)Violent crime (1.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Milton1.2
Rest of FL3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Milton3.7
Rest of FL14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Milton’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMiltonRest of FloridaMiltonRest of Florida
202217.322.11.24.5
202316.819.21.73.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
20253.714.31.23.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

56 crimes reported in 2025

14 violent and 42 property, as reported to the FBI by Milton’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Robbery0
Homicide0
14
violent crimes
42
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2025 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PensacolaB+15 mi0.97.3
Gulf BreezeA19 mi0.52.9
CrestviewB29 mi1.68.4
Fort Walton BeachC−29 mi4.916.0
NicevilleA+35 mi0.31.8
DeFuniak SpringsC−56 mi3.717.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Milton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Milton.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Milton’s roads in 2019–2023

Milton had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died; 1 was a pedestrian and 1 was a cyclist. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Milton’s size would see about 6 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Milton’s own rate (9.3) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
1
cyclist among them
9.3
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Milton and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

East Milton: not gradedEast MiltonMilton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
East Milton———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. East Milton is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Milton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Milton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (11,419 in 2025); our figure for Milton is 11,440 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Milton

Is Milton, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Milton. Milton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Pensacola (B+, 15 mi), Gulf Breeze (A, 19 mi), Crestview (B, 29 mi).

Who polices Milton?

Milton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Milton Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Milton.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Milton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.