Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Micco

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Micco,FLPhoto: Premiess · CC BY-SA 4.0
South Mainland Library-Micco · part of Brevard County Library System

Micco’s library is a branch of Brevard County Library System, which lends more per resident than 71% of systems its size

Micco’s library is the South Mainland Library-Micco, a branch of Brevard County Library System, which serves 653,548 people and lent 3.3M items last year.

7921 Ron Beatty Boulevard, Micco 32976 · about 39 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
3.3M
5.1 per resident
Visits a year
1.6M
2.4 per resident · Above typical (2.1)
Programs & events
9,522
about 183 a week · 178K attended
Cardholders
39%
257,967 cards
Open
39 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about South Mainland Library-Micco

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Micco’s civic life grade

Micco isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Brevard County Library System, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Micco’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Micco

Micco is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

8.5%

8.5% of Micco’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Micco’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.4 visits · typical 2.1Higher than 61%
Borrowing per resident 5.1 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 71%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 64%
Programs offered 14.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 76%
Cardholders 39% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 52%
Spending $31 per resident · typical $36Lower than 56%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Brevard County Library System serves 653,548 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Brevard County Library System

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Brevard County Library System system. The library’s own count.

1.6M
visits
2.4 per resident
3.3M
loans, print + digital
5.1 per resident
9,522
programs & events
178K attended
258K
library cards
39% of people served
Every week3,415people at a program
Every day947Wi-Fi sessions
219 staff (full-time equivalent)485 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

3.3M print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Micco’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

Kids & programs

About 69 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Micco →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–52,055
Ages 6–111,539
Teens318
Adults2,604
All ages3,006
Little ones
39.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

178K
people at programs
9,522
programs
The building

Find it

South Mainland Library-Micco, 7921 Ron Beatty Boulevard, Micco.

39
hours open a week
10,600
square feet
With a card

Good at every Brevard County Library System branch.

New in Micco? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.87 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Micco cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$31 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $21M.

Local taxes 92%State 1%Federal 0%Gifts & other 6%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $59M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $21M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 257,967 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
MiccoSouth Mainland Library-Micco—39— unincorporated
Palm BayFranklin T. Degroodt Memorial Library—56D
RoselandNone of its own——— unincorporated
Grant-ValkariaNone of its own——B−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. South Mainland Library-Micco is one branch of Brevard County Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 653,548 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Micco

Does Micco have a public library?

Yes: South Mainland Library-Micco, 7921 Ron Beatty Boulevard, is a branch of Brevard County Library System, which serves 653,548 people. The branch is open about 39 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Brevard County Library System fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Micco’s library?

It logged 2.4 visits and lent 5.1 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Micco’s civic life grade?

Micco isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Brevard County Library System, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Micco.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.