Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Mascotte

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Mascotte FL city hall02Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Mascotte · Not graded

Crime reported in Mascotte, FL

Mascotte’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
54
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Leesburg (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (5.5)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Mascotte1.1
Rest of FL3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Mascotte5.5
Rest of FL14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Mascotte’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMascotteRest of FloridaMascotteRest of Florida
202211.322.14.14.4
202312.819.33.73.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
20255.514.31.13.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

65 crimes reported in 2025

11 violent and 54 property, as reported to the FBI by Mascotte’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Robbery3
Homicide0
11
violent crimes
54
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2025 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LeesburgC−8 mi3.419.2
ApopkaC−24 mi4.222.1
BrooksvilleD31 mi5.223.0
Altamonte SpringsC−31 mi3.221.1
MaitlandC+32 mi1.913.8
BelleviewC−33 mi3.319.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Mascotte. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Mascotte.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Mascotte’s roads in 2019–2023

Mascotte had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Mascotte’s size would see about 4 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Mascotte’s own rate (5.0) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
5.0
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Mascotte and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Groveland: not gradedGrovelandMascotte
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Groveland———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Groveland has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Mascotte. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Mascotte’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (9,878 in 2025); our figure for Mascotte is 10,150 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Mascotte

Is Mascotte, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Mascotte. Mascotte’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Leesburg (C−, 8 mi), Apopka (C−, 24 mi), Brooksville (D, 31 mi).

Who polices Mascotte?

Mascotte’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Mascotte Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Mascotte.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Mascotte feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.