Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hialeah

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Hialeah - Flickr - Phillip PessarPhoto: Phillip Pessar · CC BY 2.0
Hialeah Public Libraries

Hialeah’s library logs 0.7 visits per resident, against a typical 2.1 for libraries its size

Hialeah Public Libraries serves Hialeah’s 230,575 residents from 6 locations. Last year it logged 162K visits.

190 West 49 Street, Hialeah 33012 · about 43 hours a week
D−Civic lifeFewer library visits and community nonprofits per resident, and fewer younger adults in volunteering groups, than most U.S. towns.
Visits a year
162K
0.7 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
3,591
about 69 a week · 34K attended
Cardholders
26%
58,973 cards
Open
43 hrs
a week
In brief

What Hialeah’s library is like

Still charges late fines, unlike its neighbors

Hialeah Public Libraries charges late fines on some overdue items. All six libraries in neighboring towns have dropped them. What your card is worth ↓

Programs lean toward adults

95% of the 3,591 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 121 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

Runs on less money than most

Hialeah Public Libraries spends $10 per resident, less than 98% of similar-size libraries (typical: $36). What your card is worth ↓

Six places to borrow in Hialeah

Hialeah Public Libraries runs six locations, and one card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Hialeah’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Hialeah has fewer per resident than most U.S. towns. Among the 385 U.S. cities over 100,000 we grade, it ranks #385. Hialeah’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the U.S. middle.

D−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Hialeah’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Near the bottom
FewerMore
Florida towns we grade (273)#272 of 273
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $42K–$69K (6,540)Near the bottom

Hialeah Public Libraries spends $10 per resident, against a typical $36 for libraries its size.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($42K–$69K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would still be D−. All three inputs point the same way, so the letter doesn’t hinge on one figure.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

266 community nonprofits are registered in Hialeah

1.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture210.09 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation320.14 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans270.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services660.29 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education400.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health270.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals50.02 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other480.21 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (166 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 26 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

1.3%

1.3% of Hialeah’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Hialeah’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.7 visits · typical 2.1Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 73%
Programs offered 15.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 79%
Cardholders 26% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 78%
Spending $10 per resident · typical $36Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Hialeah Public Libraries serves 230,575 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at John F. Kennedy Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

162K
visits
0.7 per resident
3,591
programs & events
34K attended
59K
library cards
26% of people served
Every week662people at a program
Every week3,106visits
26 staff (full-time equivalent)323 public computers170K books & media on the shelves

Loans aren’t shown: this year’s report counted only 35,335 items borrowed against 162K visits, so we leave the count out.

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Hialeah →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–515
Ages 6–11106
Teens22
Adults3,419
All ages29
Little ones
0.3

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

34K
people at programs
3,591
programs
The buildings

6 places to borrow in Hialeah

John F. Kennedy Library, 190 West 49 Street, Hialeah.

43
hours open a week
27,830
square feet
170K
books & media
With a card

Ask at the desk about getting a card.

New in Hialeah? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Hialeah

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Hialeah cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$10 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $2.4M.

Local taxes 98%State 2%Federal 0%

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 58,973 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
HialeahJohn F. Kennedy Library—43D−
Miami LakesMiami Lakes Branch Library fine-free—56D−
Hialeah GardensHialeah Gardens Branch Library fine-free—56D−
Miami SpringsMiami Springs Branch Library fine-free—56C+
BrownsvilleModel City Branch Library fine-free—48— unincorporated
West Little RiverArcola Lakes Branch fine-free—56— unincorporated
Opa-lockaOpa-Locka Branch Library fine-free—48C−
WestviewNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Loans left out. This year’s loan count is far below the library’s visits and shelves, so we leave it out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Hialeah

Does Hialeah have a public library?

Yes. Hialeah Public Libraries, 190 West 49 Street, serves Hialeah’s 230,575 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Hialeah Public Libraries fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Hialeah’s library?

It logged 0.7 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Hialeah’s civic life grade?

D− Hialeah has fewer library visits and community nonprofits per resident, and fewer younger adults in volunteering groups, than most U.S. towns. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Hialeah.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.