Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Eastpoint

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Franklin County Public Library, Eastpoint, FloridaPhoto: The Bushranger · CC BY-SA 4.0
Franklin County Public Library/Eastpoint Branch · part of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries

Eastpoint’s library is a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, which lends less per resident than 80% of systems its size

Eastpoint’s library is the Franklin County Public Library/Eastpoint Branch, a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, which serves 61,534 people and lent 92K items last year.

160 Hickory Dip, Eastpoint 32328
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
92K
1.5 per resident
Visits a year
104K
1.7 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
1,079
about 21 a week · 18K attended
Cardholders
37%
22,465 cards
In brief

What Eastpoint’s library is like

Florida pays a big share

40% of the budget comes from the state, and 59% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Programs lean toward adults

60% of the 1,079 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 326 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Eastpoint’s library is a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, so they cover the whole system (61,534 people), not just the Eastpoint branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Eastpoint’s civic life grade

Eastpoint isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Eastpoint’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Eastpoint

Eastpoint is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

4.7%

4.7% of Eastpoint’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Eastpoint’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.7 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 72%
Borrowing per resident 1.5 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 80%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 56%
Programs offered 17.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 62%
Cardholders 37% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 57%
Spending $35 per resident · typical $40Lower than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Wilderness Coast Public Libraries serves 61,534 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Wilderness Coast Public Libraries

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Wilderness Coast Public Libraries system. The library’s own count.

104K
visits
1.7 per resident
92K
loans, print + digital
1.5 per resident
1,079
programs & events
18K attended
22K
library cards
37% of people served
Every week340people at a program
Every week1,999visits
21 staff (full-time equivalent)54 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

92K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Eastpoint’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

Kids & programs

About 6 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Eastpoint →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5178
Ages 6–11148
Teens14
Adults644
All ages95
Little ones
3.4

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

18K
people at programs
1,079
programs
The building

Find it

Franklin County Public Library/Eastpoint Branch, 160 Hickory Dip, Eastpoint.

5,000
square feet
With a card

Good at every Wilderness Coast Public Libraries branch.

New in Eastpoint? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Eastpoint cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$35 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $2.2M.

Local taxes 59%State 40%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.7M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $2.2M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 22,465 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Franklin County Public Library/Eastpoint Branch is one branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 61,534 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Eastpoint

Does Eastpoint have a public library?

Yes: Franklin County Public Library/Eastpoint Branch, 160 Hickory Dip, is a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, which serves 61,534 people.

Is Wilderness Coast Public Libraries fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Eastpoint’s library?

It logged 1.7 visits and lent 1.5 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Eastpoint’s civic life grade?

Eastpoint isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Wilderness Coast Public Libraries, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Eastpoint.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.