Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dade City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dade City Woman's ClubDade City Woman's Club · Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY 2.5
Safety in Dade City · Not graded

Crime reported in Dade City, FL

Dade City’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
32
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
180
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Brooksville (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 17 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (17.3)Violent crime (3.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dade City3.1
Rest of FL3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dade City17.3
Rest of FL14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Dade City’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearDade CityRest of FloridaDade CityRest of Florida
2022not reported22.1not reported4.4
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
202517.314.33.13.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

212 crimes reported in 2025

32 violent and 180 property, as reported to the FBI by Dade City’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft150
Burglary14
Vehicle theft16
Aggravated assault23
Robbery3
Rape6
Homicide0
Arson1
32
violent crimes
180
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
BrooksvilleD17 mi5.223.0
Temple TerraceC24 mi3.315.8
LakelandC−25 mi3.817.3
AuburndaleC29 mi2.019.3
LeesburgC−31 mi3.419.2
TampaC32 mi4.113.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Dade City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Dade City.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Dade City’s roads in 2019–2023

Dade City had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 2 were pedestrians.

That is about what is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Dade City’s size would see about 4 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Dade City’s own rate (14.7) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
2
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
14.7
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Dade City and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Dade City North: not gradedPasadena Hills: not gradedDade City NorthPasadena HillsDade City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Dade City North———
Pasadena Hills———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Dade City North and Pasadena Hills are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Dade City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Dade City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (10,394 in 2025); our figure for Dade City is 10,173 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Dade City

Is Dade City, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Dade City. Dade City’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Brooksville (D, 17 mi), Temple Terrace (C, 24 mi), Lakeland (C−, 25 mi).

Who polices Dade City?

Dade City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Dade City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Dade City.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Dade City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.