Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clermont

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Florida Citrus Tower at Sunset (Clermont, Florida - March 23, 2026)Photo: Freeholdman12 · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Clermont · Not graded

Crime reported in Clermont, FL

Clermont’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
91
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
789
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Apopka (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (16.4)Violent crime (1.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Clermont1.9
Rest of FL3.6
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Clermont16.4
Rest of FL19.3
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Clermont’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearClermontRest of FloridaClermontRest of Florida
202212.522.21.64.5
202316.419.31.93.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

880 crimes reported in 2023

91 violent and 789 property, as reported to the FBI by Clermont’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft685
Burglary53
Vehicle theft51
Aggravated assault72
Robbery12
Rape7
Homicide0
Arson0
91
violent crimes
789
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ApopkaC−17 mi4.222.1
LeesburgC−17 mi3.419.2
EdgewoodB−22 mi1.611.0
Altamonte SpringsC−22 mi3.221.1
MaitlandC+22 mi1.913.8
Winter ParkC23 mi2.218.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Clermont. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clermont.

On the roads

23 people died in crashes on Clermont’s roads in 2019–2023

Clermont had 21 fatal crashes in five years, in which 23 people died; 6 were pedestrians and 1 was a cyclist.

That is 9.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for Florida towns of 25,000–100,000 people (9.7, 147 towns).

23
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
6
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
9.8
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 25,000–100,000: 9.7

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clermont and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Minneola———
Groveland———
Oakland———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Minneola, Groveland and Oakland have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clermont. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clermont’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (48,180 in 2023); our figure for Clermont is 52,812 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clermont

Is Clermont, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clermont. Clermont’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Apopka (C−, 17 mi), Leesburg (C−, 17 mi), Edgewood (B−, 22 mi).

Who polices Clermont?

Clermont’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clermont”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clermont.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clermont feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.