Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bowling Green

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Bowling green1Photo: Indietop20 · Public domain
Safety in Bowling Green · Not graded

Crime reported in Bowling Green, FL

Bowling Green’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Bartow (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.5)Violent crime (0.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Bowling Green0.4
Rest of FL3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Bowling Green6.5
Rest of FL18.4
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Bowling Green’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBowling GreenRest of FloridaBowling GreenRest of Florida
20228.922.13.64.4
202318.019.21.63.6
20246.518.40.43.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

17 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 16 property, as reported to the FBI by Bowling Green’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft9
Burglary6
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
16
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
BartowC−17 mi4.116.6
Lake WalesC24 mi3.216.8
Winter HavenC29 mi2.815.7
ArcadiaC29 mi4.611.5
LakelandC−30 mi3.817.3
Lake HamiltonC+31 mi2.016.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Bowling Green. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Bowling Green.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Bowling Green’s roads in 2019–2023

Bowling Green had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a cyclist.

That is more than is typical for Florida towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (10.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Bowling Green’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Bowling Green’s own rate (35.9) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
35.9
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 2,500–5,000: 10.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Bowling Green and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Bowling Green
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Bowling Green. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Bowling Green’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,464 in 2024); our figure for Bowling Green is 2,448 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Bowling Green

Is Bowling Green, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Bowling Green. Bowling Green’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Bartow (C−, 17 mi), Lake Wales (C, 24 mi), Winter Haven (C, 29 mi).

Who polices Bowling Green?

Bowling Green’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Bowling Green”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Bowling Green.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Bowling Green feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.