Cloud-Reese House · Photo: Smallbones · CC0Hockessin’s library is a branch of Department of Community Services, which lends more per resident than 70% of systems its size
Hockessin’s library is the Hockessin Public Library, a branch of Department of Community Services, which serves 449,061 people and lent 2.7M items last year.
What stands out about Hockessin Public Library
Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.
What’s behind Hockessin’s civic life grade
Hockessin isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Department of Community Services, so there is no town figure for visits.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Volunteering in Hockessin
Hockessin is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.
8.6%
8.6% of Hockessin’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Delaware town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Hockessin’s residents live; 2022.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 6 of 8 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.
Department of Community Services serves 449,061 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.
A year at Department of Community Services
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Department of Community Services system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Almost half the print loans are kids’ books
2.7M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
511,517 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
About 43 kids’ programs a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Hockessin Public Library, 1023 Valley Road, Hockessin.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Department of Community Services branch.
New in Hockessin? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.03 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Hockessin cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $21M.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $42M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $21M budget.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 148,877 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hockessin | Hockessin Public Library | — | 47 | — unincorporated |
| North Star | None of its own | — | — | — unincorporated |
| Pike Creek | None of its own | — | — | — unincorporated |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. Hockessin Public Library is one branch of Department of Community Services, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 449,061 people it serves.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Hockessin
Does Hockessin have a public library?
Yes: Hockessin Public Library, 1023 Valley Road, is a branch of Department of Community Services, which serves 449,061 people. The branch is open about 47 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Department of Community Services fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Hockessin’s library?
It logged 2.8 visits and lent 6.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.
What is Hockessin’s civic life grade?
Hockessin isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Department of Community Services, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Hockessin.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.