Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Oak Park

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lang Ranch Oakbrook North Ranch Thousand Oaks July 2021 HDRPhoto: King of Hearts · CC BY-SA 4.0
Oak Park Library · part of Ventura County Library

Oak Park’s library is a branch of Ventura County Library, which lends less per resident than 64% of systems its size

Oak Park’s library is the Oak Park Library, a branch of Ventura County Library, which serves 244,172 people and lent 731K items last year.

899 N Kanan Rd., Oak Park 91377 · about 36 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
731K
3 per resident
Visits a year
305K
1.3 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
3,018
about 58 a week · 62K attended
Cardholders
58%
141,565 cards
Open
36 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What Oak Park’s library is like

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 68% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is higher than at 52% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

Most programs are for young children

73% of the 3,018 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 15 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Oak Park’s library is a branch of Ventura County Library, so they cover the whole system (244,172 people), not just the Oak Park branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Oak Park’s civic life grade

Oak Park isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Ventura County Library, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Oak Park’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Oak Park

Oak Park is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

9.2%

9.2% of Oak Park’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Oak Park’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.3 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 83%
Borrowing per resident 2.5 print items · typical 3.2Lower than 64%
Digital borrowing 0.5 e-items · typical 1.4Lower than 83%
Kids’ borrowing 1.7 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 52%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 60%
Programs offered 12.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 64%
Cardholders 58% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 76%
Spending $53 per resident · typical $36Higher than 69%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Ventura County Library serves 244,172 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Ventura County Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Ventura County Library system. The library’s own count.

305K
visits
1.3 per resident
731K
loans, print + digital
3 per resident
3,018
programs & events
62K attended
142K
library cards
58% of people served
Every week1,194people at a program
Every day52Wi-Fi sessions
67 staff (full-time equivalent)150 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

731K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

731Kloans
Books & media (adults) 27%Kids’ books & media 56%E-books, audio & streaming 17%
From your couch

124,123 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 42 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Oak Park →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5789
Ages 6–111,413
Teens251
Adults565
All ages0
Little ones
15.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

410K
kids’ books & media borrowed
62K
people at programs
3,018
programs
The building

Find it

Oak Park Library, 899 N Kanan Rd., Oak Park.

36
hours open a week
10,000
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Ventura County Library branch.

New in Oak Park? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Oak Park cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$53 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $13M.

Local taxes 92%State 5%Federal 0%Gifts & other 2%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $11M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $13M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 141,565 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Thousand OaksThousand Oaks Library fine-free7.958B
Oak ParkOak Park Library fine-free—36— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Oak Park Library is one branch of Ventura County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 244,172 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Oak Park

Does Oak Park have a public library?

Yes: Oak Park Library, 899 N Kanan Rd., is a branch of Ventura County Library, which serves 244,172 people. The branch is open about 36 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Ventura County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Oak Park’s library?

It logged 1.3 visits and lent 3.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Oak Park’s civic life grade?

Oak Park isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Ventura County Library, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Oak Park.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.