Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Needles

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Needles, California (3226903381) (cropped)Photo: Ken Lund from Reno, Nevada, USA · CC BY-SA 2.0
Safety in Needles · Not graded

Crime reported in Needles, CA

Needles’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
53
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
81
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
80 mi
Blythe (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 17 property crimes reported

And about 11 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (16.8)Violent crime (11)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Needles11.0
Rest of CA4.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Needles16.8
Rest of CA18.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Needles’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of California. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearNeedlesRest of CaliforniaNeedlesRest of California
202223.424.818.65.1
2023not reported25.0not reported5.4
202423.620.89.24.9
202516.818.511.04.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

134 crimes reported in 2025

53 violent and 81 property, as reported to the FBI by Needles’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft48
Burglary19
Vehicle theft14
Aggravated assault41
Robbery6
Rape3
Homicide3
Arson1
53
violent crimes
81
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest California towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
BlytheC80 mi5.59.6
CoachellaC116 mi3.015.4
IndioC+118 mi3.112.5
Palm DesertC−124 mi2.528.4
Indian WellsC+124 mi1.316.2
Desert Hot SpringsC124 mi4.912.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Needles. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Needles.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Needles’s roads in 2019–2023

Needles had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (5 of 5) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is more than is typical for California towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Needles’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Needles’s own rate (20.5) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
20.5
per 100,000 a year · California towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Needles and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Needles
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Needles. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Needles’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,816 in 2025); our figure for Needles is 4,821 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Needles

Is Needles, CA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Needles. Needles’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest California towns with a grade are Blythe (C, 80 mi), Coachella (C, 116 mi), Indio (C+, 118 mi).

Who polices Needles?

Needles’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Needles”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Needles.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Needles feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.