Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Le Grand

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Le Grand Branch Library · part of Merced County Library

Le Grand’s library is a branch of Merced County Library, which lends less per resident than 93% of systems its size

Le Grand’s library is the Le Grand Branch Library, a branch of Merced County Library, which serves 287,303 people and lent 299K items last year.

12949 Le Grand Road, Le Grand 95333 · about 41 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
299K
1 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
3,113
about 60 a week · 21K attended
Cardholders
11%
30,587 cards
Open
41 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Le Grand’s library, in brief

Few residents carry a card

Only 11% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 41% for its size. How it compares ↓

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 62% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is lower than at 89% of similar-size libraries, so the high share mostly reflects light borrowing by adults. What people borrow ↓

Runs on less money than most

The Merced County Library system spends $15 per resident, less than 91% of similar-size libraries (typical: $36). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Le Grand’s library is a branch of Merced County Library, so they cover the whole system (287,303 people), not just the Le Grand branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Le Grand’s civic life grade

Le Grand isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Merced County Library, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Le Grand’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Le Grand

Le Grand is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

5.3%

5.3% of Le Grand’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Le Grand’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.2Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.2 e-items · typical 1.4Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 89%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.2Bottom 10%
Programs offered 10.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 58%
Cardholders 11% of residents · typical 41%Bottom 10%
Spending $15 per resident · typical $36Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Merced County Library serves 287,303 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 16 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Merced County Library system. The library’s own count.

299K
loans, print + digital
1 per resident
3,113
programs & events
21K attended
31K
library cards
11% of people served
Every open hour16items borrowed
Every week403people at a program
Every day36Wi-Fi sessions
37 staff (full-time equivalent)61 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

299K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

299Kloans
Books & media (adults) 33%Kids’ books & media 53%E-books, audio & streaming 15%
From your couch

43,808 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 25 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Le Grand →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5837
Ages 6–11442
Teens787
Adults640
All ages407
Little ones
16.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

157K
kids’ books & media borrowed
21K
people at programs
3,113
programs
The building

Find it

Le Grand Branch Library, 12949 Le Grand Road, Le Grand.

41
hours open a week
3,057
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Merced County Library branch.

New in Le Grand? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.05 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Le Grand cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$15 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $4.3M.

Local taxes 96%State 4%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.5M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4.3M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 30,587 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Merced County Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Le Grand Branch Library is one branch of Merced County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 287,303 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Le Grand

Does Le Grand have a public library?

Yes: Le Grand Branch Library, 12949 Le Grand Road, is a branch of Merced County Library, which serves 287,303 people. The branch is open about 41 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Merced County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Le Grand’s library?

It lent 1.0 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 3,113 programs that drew 20,935 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Le Grand’s civic life grade?

Le Grand isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Merced County Library, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Le Grand.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.