Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Holtville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
HoltvillecityhallPhoto: Perdelsky at English Wikipedia · Public domain
Holtville Branch Library · part of Imperial County Library

Holtville’s library is a branch of Imperial County Library, which lends less per resident than 82% of systems its size

Holtville’s library is the Holtville Branch Library, a branch of Imperial County Library, which serves 48,181 people and lent 68K items last year.

101 E. Sixth, Holtville 92250 · about 36 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 27% of U.S. towns · #210 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
68K
1.4 per resident
Visits a year
18K
0.4 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
470
about 9 a week · 2,074 attended
Cardholders
34%
16,588 cards
Open
36 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What Holtville’s library is like

The Imperial County Library system is used less than most libraries its size

The Imperial County Library system records 0.4 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people. Borrowing is 1.4 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7. It also spends less than most: $13 per resident, against a typical $40. How it compares ↓

Programs are almost all for children

89% of the 470 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 5.5 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

California pays a big share

25% of the budget comes from the state, and 51% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Runs on less money than most

The Imperial County Library system spends $13 per resident, less than 91% of similar-size libraries (typical: $40). What your card is worth ↓

Almost all the borrowing is off the shelf

Only 4% of loans are e-books, audiobooks or streaming, fewer per resident than at 98% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Holtville’s library is a branch of Imperial County Library, so they cover the whole system (48,181 people), not just the Holtville branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Holtville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Holtville is ahead of 27% of U.S. towns, #210 of 448 in California. Holtville is graded on two of the three inputs. Holtville’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Holtville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 27%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 53%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $49K–$81K (8,556)Ahead of 25%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($49K–$81K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Holtville is small (5,591 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

28 community nonprofits are registered in Holtville

5.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation71.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans40.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services20.36 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education71.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.36 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other40.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (9 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

2.4%

2.4% of Holtville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Holtville’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.4 visits · typical 2.6Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 1.4 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 82%
Digital borrowing 0.1 e-items · typical 1.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.4 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 88%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.3Bottom 10%
Programs offered 9.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 70%
Cardholders 34% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 61%
Spending $13 per resident · typical $40Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Imperial County Library serves 48,181 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 11 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Imperial County Library system. The library’s own count.

18K
visits
0.4 per resident
68K
loans, print + digital
1.4 per resident
470
programs & events
2,074 attended
17K
library cards
34% of people served
Every open hour11items borrowed
Every week40people at a program
Every week356visits
11 staff (full-time equivalent)18 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

68K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

68Kloans
Books & media (adults) 68%Kids’ books & media 29%E-books, audio & streaming 4%
From your couch

2,456 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 8 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Holtville →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5286
Ages 6–11132
Teens30
Adults15
All ages7
Little ones
5.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

19K
kids’ books & media borrowed
2,074
people at programs
470
programs
The building

Find it

Holtville Branch Library, 101 E. Sixth, Holtville.

36
hours open a week
3,400
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Imperial County Library branch.

New in Holtville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.67 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Holtville cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$13 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $644K.

Local taxes 51%State 25%Gifts & other 23%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.1M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $644K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 16,588 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Holtville Branch Library is one branch of Imperial County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 48,181 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Holtville

Does Holtville have a public library?

Yes: Holtville Branch Library, 101 E. Sixth, is a branch of Imperial County Library, which serves 48,181 people. The branch is open about 36 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Imperial County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Holtville’s library?

It logged 0.4 visits and lent 1.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Holtville’s civic life grade?

C Holtville is ahead of 27% of U.S. towns on civic life, #210 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Holtville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.