Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Heber

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Heber Branch Library · part of Imperial County Library

Heber’s library is a branch of Imperial County Library, which lends less per resident than 82% of systems its size

Heber’s library is the Heber Branch Library, a branch of Imperial County Library, which serves 48,181 people and lent 68K items last year.

1132 Heber Ave., Heber 92249 · about 23 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
68K
1.4 per resident
Visits a year
18K
0.4 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
470
about 9 a week · 2,074 attended
Cardholders
34%
16,588 cards
Open
23 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What Heber’s library is like

The Imperial County Library system is used less than most libraries its size

The Imperial County Library system records 0.4 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people. Borrowing is 1.4 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7. It also spends less than most: $13 per resident, against a typical $40. How it compares ↓

Programs are almost all for children

89% of the 470 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 5.5 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

California pays a big share

25% of the budget comes from the state, and 51% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Runs on less money than most

The Imperial County Library system spends $13 per resident, less than 91% of similar-size libraries (typical: $40). What your card is worth ↓

Almost all the borrowing is off the shelf

Only 4% of loans are e-books, audiobooks or streaming, fewer per resident than at 98% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Heber’s library is a branch of Imperial County Library, so they cover the whole system (48,181 people), not just the Heber branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Heber’s civic life grade

Heber isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Imperial County Library, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Heber’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Heber

Heber is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

3.6%

3.6% of Heber’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Heber’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.4 visits · typical 2.6Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 1.4 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 82%
Digital borrowing 0.1 e-items · typical 1.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.4 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 88%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.3Bottom 10%
Programs offered 9.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 70%
Cardholders 34% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 61%
Spending $13 per resident · typical $40Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Imperial County Library serves 48,181 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 11 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Imperial County Library system. The library’s own count.

18K
visits
0.4 per resident
68K
loans, print + digital
1.4 per resident
470
programs & events
2,074 attended
17K
library cards
34% of people served
Every open hour11items borrowed
Every week40people at a program
Every week356visits
11 staff (full-time equivalent)18 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

68K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

68Kloans
Books & media (adults) 68%Kids’ books & media 29%E-books, audio & streaming 4%
From your couch

2,456 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 8 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Heber →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5286
Ages 6–11132
Teens30
Adults15
All ages7
Little ones
5.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

19K
kids’ books & media borrowed
2,074
people at programs
470
programs
The building

Find it

Heber Branch Library, 1132 Heber Ave., Heber.

23
hours open a week
420
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Imperial County Library branch.

New in Heber? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.67 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Heber cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$13 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $644K.

Local taxes 51%State 25%Gifts & other 23%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.1M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $644K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 16,588 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Heber Branch Library is one branch of Imperial County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 48,181 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Heber

Does Heber have a public library?

Yes: Heber Branch Library, 1132 Heber Ave., is a branch of Imperial County Library, which serves 48,181 people. The branch is open about 23 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Imperial County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Heber’s library?

It logged 0.4 visits and lent 1.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Heber’s civic life grade?

Heber isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Imperial County Library, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Heber.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.