Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dunsmuir

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lovely DunsmuirPhoto: LokiBoone · CC BY-SA 4.0
Dunsmuir Branch Library · part of Siskiyou County Free Library

Dunsmuir’s library is a branch of Siskiyou County Free Library, which lends less per resident than 58% of systems its size

Dunsmuir’s library is the Dunsmuir Branch Library, a branch of Siskiyou County Free Library, which serves 43,409 people and lent 184K items last year.

5714 Dunsmuir Ave., Dunsmuir 96025 · about 20 hours a week
A+Civic lifeAmong the top 1% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
184K
4.2 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Cardholders
28%
12,009 cards
Open
20 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Dunsmuir Branch Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Dunsmuir’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Dunsmuir is among the top 1% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Dunsmuir is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs put Dunsmuir near the top nationally; Dunsmuir’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Dunsmuir’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Among the top 1%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $44K–$73K (7,235)Among the top 1%

The survey’s stand-in for Dunsmuir’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Dunsmuir is small (1,587 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

15 community nonprofits are registered in Dunsmuir

10.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: arts & culture.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture42.84 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services21.42 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education32.13 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals21.42 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other21.42 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (5 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

13.1%

13.1% of Dunsmuir’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Dunsmuir’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 3.1 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 58%
Digital borrowing 1.2 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 51%
Kids’ borrowing 1 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 67%
Cardholders 28% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 75%
Spending $18 per resident · typical $40Lower than 84%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Siskiyou County Free Library serves 43,409 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 19 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Siskiyou County Free Library system. The library’s own count.

184K
loans, print + digital
4.2 per resident
12K
library cards
28% of people served
Every open hour19items borrowed
3 staff (full-time equivalent)63 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

184K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

184Kloans
Books & media (adults) 48%Kids’ books & media 25%E-books, audio & streaming 27%
From your couch

50,442 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Dunsmuir →
45K
kids’ books & media borrowed
The building

Find it

Dunsmuir Branch Library, 5714 Dunsmuir Ave., Dunsmuir.

20
hours open a week
3,544
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Siskiyou County Free Library branch.

New in Dunsmuir? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.66 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Dunsmuir cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$18 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $765K.

Local taxes 80%State 10%Federal 9%Gifts & other 2%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.8M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $765K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 12,009 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Siskiyou County Free Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Dunsmuir Branch Library is one branch of Siskiyou County Free Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 43,409 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Dunsmuir

Does Dunsmuir have a public library?

Yes: Dunsmuir Branch Library, 5714 Dunsmuir Ave., is a branch of Siskiyou County Free Library, which serves 43,409 people. The branch is open about 20 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Siskiyou County Free Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Dunsmuir’s library?

It lent 4.2 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Dunsmuir’s civic life grade?

A+ Dunsmuir is among the top 1% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Dunsmuir.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.