Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Copperopolis

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Reed's StoreReed's Store · Photo: Bobak Ha'Eri · CC BY 3.0
Copperopolis Branch Library · part of Calaveras County Library

Copperopolis’ library is a branch of Calaveras County Library, which lends less per resident than 64% of systems its size

Copperopolis’s library is the Copperopolis Branch Library, a branch of Calaveras County Library, which serves 44,842 people and lent 141K items last year.

Suite 106 Lake Tulloch Plaza, Copperopolis 95228 · about 17 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
141K
3.2 per resident
Visits a year
51K
1.1 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
505
about 10 a week · 8,503 attended
Cardholders
68%
30,632 cards
Open
17 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Copperopolis’s library, in brief

Programs are almost all for children

86% of the 505 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 6.4 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Open only about 17 hours a week

The Copperopolis branch keeps short hours: about 17 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Copperopolis’s library is a branch of Calaveras County Library, so they cover the whole system (44,842 people), not just the Copperopolis branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Copperopolis’ civic life grade

Copperopolis isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Calaveras County Library, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Copperopolis’ overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Copperopolis

Copperopolis is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

9.6%

9.6% of Copperopolis’ Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Copperopolis’ residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.1 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 87%
Borrowing per resident 2.6 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 64%
Digital borrowing 0.5 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 77%
Kids’ borrowing 1 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 68%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 74%
Programs offered 11.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 62%
Cardholders 68% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 86%
Spending $25 per resident · typical $40Lower than 74%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Calaveras County Library serves 44,842 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Calaveras County Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Calaveras County Library system. The library’s own count.

51K
visits
1.1 per resident
141K
loans, print + digital
3.2 per resident
505
programs & events
8,503 attended
31K
library cards
68% of people served
Every week164people at a program
Every day64Wi-Fi sessions
11 staff (full-time equivalent)35 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

141K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

141Kloans
Books & media (adults) 52%Kids’ books & media 32%E-books, audio & streaming 16%
From your couch

22,769 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 8 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Copperopolis →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5333
Ages 6–11100
Teens0
Adults72
All ages0
Little ones
6.4

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

45K
kids’ books & media borrowed
8,503
people at programs
505
programs
The building

Find it

Copperopolis Branch Library, Suite 106 Lake Tulloch Plaza, Copperopolis.

17
hours open a week
1,800
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Calaveras County Library branch.

New in Copperopolis? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.07 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Copperopolis cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$25 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.1M.

Local taxes 81%State 5%Gifts & other 14%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.1M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 30,632 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Copperopolis Branch Library is one branch of Calaveras County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 44,842 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Copperopolis

Does Copperopolis have a public library?

Yes: Copperopolis Branch Library, Suite 106 Lake Tulloch Plaza, is a branch of Calaveras County Library, which serves 44,842 people. The branch is open about 17 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Calaveras County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Copperopolis’ library?

It logged 1.1 visits and lent 3.2 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Copperopolis’ civic life grade?

Copperopolis isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Calaveras County Library, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Copperopolis.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.