Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clearlake

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Mount KonoctiPhoto: Eggsy-B · CC BY-SA 4.0
Redbud Library · part of Lake County Library

Clearlake’s library is a branch of Lake County Library, which lends less per resident than 68% of systems its size

Clearlake’s library is the Redbud Library, a branch of Lake County Library, which serves 67,001 people and lent 232K items last year.

14785 Burns Valley Rd., Clearlake 95422 · about 35 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 10% of U.S. towns · #295 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
232K
3.5 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
829
about 16 a week · 8,401 attended
Cardholders
43%
28,984 cards
Open
35 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Redbud Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Clearlake’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Clearlake is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns, #295 of 448 in California. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Clearlake is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Clearlake’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Clearlake’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 10%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 34%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $31K–$52K (2,501)Ahead of 17%

The survey’s stand-in for Clearlake’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($31K–$52K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

40 community nonprofits are registered in Clearlake

2.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture20.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans130.78 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services90.54 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health40.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals30.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other50.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (17 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

5.2%

5.2% of Clearlake’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Clearlake’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 2.4 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 68%
Digital borrowing 1.1 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 53%
Kids’ borrowing 0.9 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 72%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 86%
Programs offered 12.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 58%
Cardholders 43% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 58%
Spending $27 per resident · typical $40Lower than 69%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Lake County Library serves 67,001 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Lake County Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Lake County Library system. The library’s own count.

232K
loans, print + digital
3.5 per resident
829
programs & events
8,401 attended
29K
library cards
43% of people served
Every week162people at a program
15 staff (full-time equivalent)31 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

232K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

232Kloans
Books & media (adults) 43%Kids’ books & media 25%E-books, audio & streaming 32%
From your couch

73,687 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 8 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Clearlake →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5127
Ages 6–11267
Teens110
Adults325
All ages0
Little ones
2.4

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

58K
kids’ books & media borrowed
8,401
people at programs
829
programs
The building

Find it

Redbud Library, 14785 Burns Valley Rd., Clearlake.

35
hours open a week
13,203
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Lake County Library branch.

New in Clearlake? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.01 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Clearlake cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$27 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.8M.

Local taxes 89%State 7%Federal 0%Gifts & other 4%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $3.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.8M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 28,984 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
ClearlakeRedbud Library—35D
Lower LakeNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Lake County Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Redbud Library is one branch of Lake County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 67,001 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Clearlake

Does Clearlake have a public library?

Yes: Redbud Library, 14785 Burns Valley Rd., is a branch of Lake County Library, which serves 67,001 people. The branch is open about 35 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Lake County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Clearlake’s library?

It lent 3.5 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 829 programs that drew 8,401 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Clearlake’s civic life grade?

D Clearlake is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns on civic life, #295 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Clearlake.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.