Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bishop

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Bishop with the Sierra Nevada Mountains in the backgroundPhoto: Bishopvisitor · CC BY-SA 4.0
Bishop Branch Library · part of Inyo County Free Library

Bishop’s library is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which lends less per resident than 88% of systems its size

Bishop’s library is the Bishop Branch Library, a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which serves 18,856 people and lent 35K items last year.

210 Academy Ave., Bishop 93514 · about 36 hours a week
A−Civic lifeAhead of 76% of U.S. towns · #76 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
35K
1.9 per resident
Visits a year
23K
1.2 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Programs & events
508
about 10 a week · 3,967 attended
Cardholders
30%
5,591 cards
Open
36 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Bishop Branch Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Bishop’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Bishop is ahead of 76% of U.S. towns, #76 of 448 in California. Bishop is graded on two of the three inputs. Bishop’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

A−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Bishop’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 76%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 83%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $63K–$105K (8,869)Ahead of 76%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Bishop is small (3,696 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

36 community nonprofits are registered in Bishop

9.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture20.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation51.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans102.57 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services51.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.69 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health30.90 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals61.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other20.56 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (14 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.9%

6.9% of Bishop’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Bishop’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.2 visits · typical 3.1Lower than 85%
Borrowing per resident 1.2 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 88%
Digital borrowing 0.7 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 68%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.8Lower than 85%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.4Lower than 79%
Programs offered 26.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Higher than 57%
Cardholders 30% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 69%
Spending $45 per resident · typical $43Higher than 52%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Inyo County Free Library serves 18,856 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

A year at Inyo County Free Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Inyo County Free Library system. The library’s own count.

23K
visits
1.2 per resident
35K
loans, print + digital
1.9 per resident
508
programs & events
3,967 attended
5,591
library cards
30% of people served
Every week76people at a program
Every day5Wi-Fi sessions
9 staff (full-time equivalent)12 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

35K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

35Kloans
Books & media (adults) 38%Kids’ books & media 28%E-books, audio & streaming 35%
From your couch

12,298 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 6 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Bishop →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–549
Ages 6–11254
Teens32
Adults168
All ages5
Little ones
0.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

9,711
kids’ books & media borrowed
3,967
people at programs
508
programs
The building

Find it

Bishop Branch Library, 210 Academy Ave., Bishop.

36
hours open a week
6,000
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Inyo County Free Library branch.

New in Bishop? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Bishop cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$45 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $841K.

Local taxes 99%State 0%Federal 1%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $571K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $841K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 5,591 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
BishopBishop Branch Library—36A−
West BishopNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Bishop Branch Library is one branch of Inyo County Free Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 18,856 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Bishop

Does Bishop have a public library?

Yes: Bishop Branch Library, 210 Academy Ave., is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which serves 18,856 people. The branch is open about 36 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Inyo County Free Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Bishop’s library?

It logged 1.2 visits and lent 1.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Bishop’s civic life grade?

A− Bishop is ahead of 76% of U.S. towns on civic life, #76 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Bishop.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.