Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Big Pine

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Big Pine landscapePhoto: Clinton Steeds from Los Angeles, USA · CC BY 2.0
Big Pine Branch Library · part of Inyo County Free Library

Big Pine’s library is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which lends less per resident than 88% of systems its size

Big Pine’s library is the Big Pine Branch Library, a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which serves 18,856 people and lent 35K items last year.

500 S. Main St., Big Pine 93513 · about 20 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
35K
1.9 per resident
Visits a year
23K
1.2 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Programs & events
508
about 10 a week · 3,967 attended
Cardholders
30%
5,591 cards
Open
20 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Big Pine’s library, in brief

The Inyo County Free Library system is used less than most libraries its size

The Inyo County Free Library system records 1.2 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people. Borrowing is 1.2 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. How it compares ↓

Open only about 20 hours a week

The Big Pine branch keeps short hours: about 20 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Big Pine’s library is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, so they cover the whole system (18,856 people), not just the Big Pine branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Big Pine’s civic life grade

Big Pine isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Big Pine’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Big Pine

Big Pine is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

6.5%

6.5% of Big Pine’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Big Pine’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.2 visits · typical 3.1Lower than 85%
Borrowing per resident 1.2 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 88%
Digital borrowing 0.7 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 68%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.8Lower than 85%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.4Lower than 79%
Programs offered 26.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Higher than 57%
Cardholders 30% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 69%
Spending $45 per resident · typical $43Higher than 52%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Inyo County Free Library serves 18,856 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

A year at Inyo County Free Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Inyo County Free Library system. The library’s own count.

23K
visits
1.2 per resident
35K
loans, print + digital
1.9 per resident
508
programs & events
3,967 attended
5,591
library cards
30% of people served
Every week76people at a program
Every day5Wi-Fi sessions
9 staff (full-time equivalent)12 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

35K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

35Kloans
Books & media (adults) 38%Kids’ books & media 28%E-books, audio & streaming 35%
From your couch

12,298 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 6 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Big Pine →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–549
Ages 6–11254
Teens32
Adults168
All ages5
Little ones
0.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

9,711
kids’ books & media borrowed
3,967
people at programs
508
programs
The building

Find it

Big Pine Branch Library, 500 S. Main St., Big Pine.

20
hours open a week
3,600
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Inyo County Free Library branch.

New in Big Pine? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Big Pine cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$45 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $841K.

Local taxes 99%State 0%Federal 1%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $571K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $841K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 5,591 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Big Pine Branch Library is one branch of Inyo County Free Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 18,856 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Big Pine

Does Big Pine have a public library?

Yes: Big Pine Branch Library, 500 S. Main St., is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, which serves 18,856 people. The branch is open about 20 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Inyo County Free Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Big Pine’s library?

It logged 1.2 visits and lent 1.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Big Pine’s civic life grade?

Big Pine isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Inyo County Free Library, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Big Pine.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.