Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Adin

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Adin Supply CompanyAdin Supply Company · Photo: Ian Poellet · CC BY-SA 3.0
Adin Station Library · part of Modoc County Library

Adin’s library is a branch of Modoc County Library, which lends less per resident than 73% of systems its size

Adin’s library is the Adin Station Library, a branch of Modoc County Library, which serves 8,484 people and lent 23K items last year.

609 South Main, Adin 96006
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
23K
2.7 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
70
about 1 a week · 745 attended
Cardholders
43%
3,673 cards
In brief

What Adin’s library is like

Programs are almost all for children

93% of the 70 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 1 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Few programs for a library this size

The Modoc County Library system offered 70 programs last year, 8.3 per 1,000 residents against a typical 34. Kids & programs ↓

Gifts and endowments pay a real share

26% of the system’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 70%. What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Adin’s library is a branch of Modoc County Library, so they cover the whole system (8,484 people), not just the Adin branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Adin’s civic life grade

Adin isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Adin’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 2.3 print items · typical 3.8Lower than 73%
Digital borrowing 0.5 e-items · typical 1Lower than 73%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 83%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.5Bottom 10%
Programs offered 8.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 87%
Cardholders 43% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 52%
Spending $32 per resident · typical $43Lower than 67%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Modoc County Library serves 8,484 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 8 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Modoc County Library system. The library’s own count.

23K
loans, print + digital
2.7 per resident
70
programs & events
745 attended
3,673
library cards
43% of people served
Every open hour8items borrowed
Every week14people at a program
3 staff (full-time equivalent)11 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

23K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

23Kloans
Books & media (adults) 65%Kids’ books & media 18%E-books, audio & streaming 17%
From your couch

3,938 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Adin →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–553
Ages 6–1112
Teens0
Adults1
All ages4
Little ones
1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

4,036
kids’ books & media borrowed
745
people at programs
70
programs
The building

Find it

Adin Station Library, 609 South Main, Adin.

672
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Modoc County Library branch.

New in Adin? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.36 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Adin cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$32 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $272K.

Local taxes 70%State 4%Gifts & other 26%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $371K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $272K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,673 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Modoc County Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Adin Station Library is one branch of Modoc County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 8,484 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Adin

Does Adin have a public library?

Yes: Adin Station Library, 609 South Main, is a branch of Modoc County Library, which serves 8,484 people.

Is Modoc County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Adin’s library?

It lent 2.7 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 70 programs that drew 745 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Adin’s civic life grade?

Adin isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Adin.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.