Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Page

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lees FerryLees Ferry · Photo: Nikater · Public domain
Page Public Library

Page’s library logs 14 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries its size

Page Public Library serves Page’s 7,479 residents. Last year it lent 41K print books and media and logged 107K visits.

479 S Lake Powell Blvd, Page 86040 · about 47 hours a week
B−Civic lifeAhead of 48% of U.S. towns · #26 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
41K
5.5 per resident
Visits a year
107K
14.3 per resident · Above typical (3)
Programs & events
1,107
about 21 a week · 50K attended
Cardholders
100%
20,390 cards
Open
47 hrs
a week
In brief

Page’s library, in brief

More library cards than residents

20,390 cards for 7,479 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving 2,500 to 10,000 people, it’s 42%. How it compares ↓

Page ranks 2nd in Arizona for library use

Out of 40 Arizona towns with a library of their own, Page comes 2nd for visits per resident. How it compares ↓

Four times the programs of a typical library its size

Page Public Library ran 1,107 programs last year, about 21 a week. That’s 148 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34. People show up: 50,000 attended. Kids & programs ↓

Page invests in its library

Page Public Library spends $134 per resident a year, about three times the typical $43 for a library its size. Almost all of it (97%) comes from local taxes. What your card is worth ↓

A place to get online

Page Public Library logs about 115 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 18 public computers. That’s 5.6 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Page’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Page is ahead of 48% of U.S. towns, #26 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits hold the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Page’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 48%
FewerMore
Arizona towns we grade (68)Ahead of 63%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $67K–$111K (8,480)Ahead of 48%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C− to B+. Page is small (7,147 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

25 community nonprofits are registered in Page

3.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.41 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation81.09 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans50.68 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services30.41 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education20.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other20.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (4 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

3.9%

3.9% of Page’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Page’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 7 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Page →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–590
Ages 6–11254
Teens150
Adults165
All ages448
Little ones
1.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
5

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Page last year.

50K
people at programs
1,107
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 6 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 14.3 visits · typical 3Top 10%
Borrowing per resident 5.5 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 69%
Kids’ borrowing 1.4 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 56%
Program attendance 6.7 attendees · typical 0.5Top 10%
Programs offered 148 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Top 10%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 42%Top 10%
Spending $134 per resident · typical $43Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in AZ#2Most-used librariesof 40 towns
#25Most library borrowingof 40 towns
#33Best libraries for kidsof 40 towns
Size group

Page Public Library serves 7,479 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 17 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

107K
visits
14.3 per resident
41K
loans, print + digital
5.5 per resident
1,107
programs & events
50K attended
20K
library cards
100% of people served
Every open hour17items borrowed
Every week966people at a program
Every day115Wi-Fi sessions
18 public computers61K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: staff. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

41K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

41Kloans
Books & media (adults) 74%Kids’ books & media 26%
How hard the shelves work
0.7×

Each of the 61K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.7 time last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The building

Find it

Page Public Library, 479 S Lake Powell Blvd, Page.

47
hours open a week
14,121
square feet
61K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Page? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.27 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Page cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$134 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $1M.

Local taxes 97%Federal 2%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 20,390 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
PagePage Public Library5.547B−
GreenehavenNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
LeCheeNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: staff. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Page

Does Page have a public library?

Yes. Page Public Library, 479 S Lake Powell Blvd, serves Page’s 7,479 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 47 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Page Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Page’s library?

It logged 14.3 visits and lent 5.5 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Page’s civic life grade?

B− Page is ahead of 48% of U.S. towns on civic life, #26 of 68 in Arizona. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Page.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.