Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Mammoth

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Mammoth-City HallPhoto: Marine 69-71 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Mammoth Public Library

Mammoth Public Library serves Mammoth’s 1,078 residents

Mammoth Public Library serves Mammoth’s 1,078 residents.

125 N Clark St., Mammoth 85618
D−Civic lifeAhead of 3% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Civic life grade

What’s behind Mammoth’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Mammoth is ahead of 3% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Mammoth is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Mammoth’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Mammoth’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 3%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $35K–$59K (4,035)Ahead of 5%

The survey’s stand-in for Mammoth’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2021 figure, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($35K–$59K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Mammoth is small (1,149 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

2 community nonprofits are registered in Mammoth

1.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.84 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.84 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (3 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

4.2%

4.2% of Mammoth’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Mammoth’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Mammoth Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Mammoth Public Library, 125 N Clark St., Mammoth.

2,000
square feet
With a card

Ask at the desk about getting a card.

New in Mammoth? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Mammoth resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,078 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
MammothMammoth Public Library——D−
OracleNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Mammoth Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2021 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Mammoth

Does Mammoth have a public library?

Yes. Mammoth Public Library, 125 N Clark St., serves Mammoth’s 1,078 residents (the survey’s count).

How busy is Mammoth’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Mammoth’s civic life grade?

D− Mammoth is ahead of 3% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Mammoth.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.