Fort Mohave’s library is a branch of Mohave County Library District, which lends less per resident than 84% of systems its size
Fort Mohave’s library is the South Mohave Valley Community Library, a branch of Mohave County Library District, which serves 228,107 people and lent 478K items last year.
What Fort Mohave’s library is like
Most programs are for young children
75% of the 1,586 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 5 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓
Few residents carry a card
Only 16% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 41% for its size. How it compares ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Fort Mohave’s library is a branch of Mohave County Library District, so they cover the whole system (228,107 people), not just the Fort Mohave branch.
What’s behind Fort Mohave’s civic life grade
Fort Mohave isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Mohave County Library District, so there is no town figure for visits.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Volunteering in Fort Mohave
Fort Mohave is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.
5.4%
5.4% of Fort Mohave’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Fort Mohave’s residents live; 2022.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 8 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.
Mohave County Library District serves 228,107 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.
A year at Mohave County Library District
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Mohave County Library District system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Mostly books and media off the shelf
478K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
114,508 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
About 23 kids’ programs a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
South Mohave Valley Community Library, 5902 Hwy 95 Ste 102, Fort Mohave.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Mohave County Library District branch.
New in Fort Mohave? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.35 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Fort Mohave cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $6.1M.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $8.2M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $6.1M budget.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 36,305 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Mohave | South Mohave Valley Community Library | — | 25 | — unincorporated |
| Bullhead City | Bullhead City Branch Library | — | 50 | — too few inputs |
| Mesquite Creek | None of its own | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. South Mohave Valley Community Library is one branch of Mohave County Library District, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 228,107 people it serves.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Fort Mohave
Does Fort Mohave have a public library?
Yes: South Mohave Valley Community Library, 5902 Hwy 95 Ste 102, is a branch of Mohave County Library District, which serves 228,107 people. The branch is open about 25 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Mohave County Library District fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Fort Mohave’s library?
It logged 1.5 visits and lent 2.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.
What is Fort Mohave’s civic life grade?
Fort Mohave isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of Mohave County Library District, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Fort Mohave.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.