Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bowie

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Fort Bowie National Historic SiteFort Bowie National Historic Site · Photo: SonoranDesertNPS from Tucson, Arizona · CC BY 2.0
Jimmie Libhart Branch Library · part of Cochise County Library District

Bowie’s library is a branch of Cochise County Library District, which lends less per resident than 98% of systems its size

Bowie’s library is the Jimmie Libhart Branch Library, a branch of Cochise County Library District, which serves 128,253 people and lent 43K items last year.

201 N Central Ave, Bowie 85605 · about 15 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
43K
0.3 per resident
Visits a year
14K
0.1 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
239
about 5 a week · 1,464 attended
Cardholders
2%
2,260 cards
Open
15 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Bowie’s library, in brief

The Cochise County Library District system is used less than most libraries its size

The Cochise County Library District system records 0.1 visits per resident, against a typical 2.1 for libraries serving 100,000+ people. Borrowing is 0.3 print items per resident, against a typical 3.2. It also spends less than most: $10 per resident, against a typical $36. How it compares ↓

Few programs for a library this size

The Cochise County Library District system offered 239 programs last year, 1.9 per 1,000 residents against a typical 9. Kids & programs ↓

Open only about 15 hours a week

The Bowie branch keeps short hours: about 15 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

Runs on less money than most

The Cochise County Library District system spends $10 per resident, less than 97% of similar-size libraries (typical: $36). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Bowie’s library is a branch of Cochise County Library District, so they cover the whole system (128,253 people), not just the Bowie branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Bowie’s civic life grade

Bowie isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Bowie’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.1 visits · typical 2.1Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0.3 print items · typical 3.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.1 kids’ items · typical 1.6Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.2Bottom 10%
Programs offered 1.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Bottom 10%
Cardholders 2% of residents · typical 41%Bottom 10%
Spending $10 per resident · typical $36Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Cochise County Library District serves 128,253 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 6 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Cochise County Library District system. The library’s own count.

14K
visits
0.1 per resident
43K
loans, print + digital
0.3 per resident
239
programs & events
1,464 attended
2,260
library cards
2% of people served
Every open hour6items borrowed
Every week28people at a program
Every day92Wi-Fi sessions
10 staff (full-time equivalent)20 public computers

Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

43K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

43Kloans
Books & media (adults) 76%Kids’ books & media 24%
From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Bowie →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–526
Ages 6–1158
Teens11
Adults102
All ages42
Little ones
0.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

10K
kids’ books & media borrowed
1,464
people at programs
239
programs
The building

Find it

Jimmie Libhart Branch Library, 201 N Central Ave, Bowie.

15
hours open a week
870
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Cochise County Library District branch.

New in Bowie? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Bowie cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$240
a year at retail prices · $20 a month

Who pays for it
$10 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $1.3M.

Last year the library lent and hosted about $792K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.3M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 2,260 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Jimmie Libhart Branch Library is one branch of Cochise County Library District, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 128,253 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Bowie

Does Bowie have a public library?

Yes: Jimmie Libhart Branch Library, 201 N Central Ave, is a branch of Cochise County Library District, which serves 128,253 people. The branch is open about 15 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Cochise County Library District fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Bowie’s library?

It logged 0.1 visits and lent 0.3 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Bowie’s civic life grade?

Bowie isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Bowie.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.